Japan Cuts Film Series Kicks Off in New York

Anime Adaptation of Tezuka's Buddha, Live Action Gantz, Miike's Latest and More

New York's Japan Society's Japan Cuts film screening series, co-presented with the New York Asian Film Festival, kicks off this weekend, with a fantastic line-up that includes Osamu Tezuka’s Buddha: The Great Departure, Ninja Kids!!! Gantz and more.  

 

 

 

 

BIRTHRIGHT (A.K.A. UMBILICAL CORD)
Wed., July 13, 9 PM
Directed by Naoki Hashimoto

OSAMU TEZUKA’S BUDDHA: THE GREAT DEPARTURE
Sun., July 10, 12:30 PM
Directed by Kozo Morishita



CONTROL TOWER
Tue., July 19, 9:30 PM
Directed by Takahiro Miki

GANTZ: THE MOVIE, PART 1
Sat., July 9, 12:30 PM
Directed by Shinsuke Sato

GANTZ, PART II: PERFECT ANSWER
Sat., July 9, 3 PM
Directed by Shinsuke Sato


HARU'S JOURNEY
Wed., July 20, 7 PM
Directed by Masahiro Kobayashi


HEAVEN'S STORY
Sun., July 10, 2:45 PM
Directed by Takahisa Zeze

INTO THE WHITE NIGHT
Fri., July 22, 7 PM
Followed by Closing Night Party!

THE KNOT
Sun., July 17, 2 PM
Directed by Yuichi Onuma

THE LAST RONIN
Tue., July 12, 9 PM
Directed by Shigemichi Sugita


A LIAR AND A BROKEN GIRL
Sat., July 16, 7:15 PM
Introduction and Q&A with Director Natsuki Seta


LOVE ADDICTION
Sat., July 16, 2:30 PM
Directed by Nobuteru Uchida


LOVE & LOATHING & LULU & AYANO
Fri., July 8, 7 PM
Directed by Hisayasu Sato



LOVE AND TREACHERY
Sat., July 16, 10:30 PM
Directed by Hitoshi Yazaki


MILOCRORZE:
A LOVE STORY
Sun., July 10, 8 PM

Introduction and Q&A with Yoshimasa Ishibashi

A NIGHT IN NUDE: SALVATION
Sun., July 17, 9 PM
Directed by Takashi Ishii

NINJA KIDS!!!
Sat., July 9, 6 PM
Directed by Takashi Miike


RAIL TRUCK
Thur., July 14, 6:30 PM
2010 (7th) Hong Kong Film Festival New Talent Award

RINCO’S RESTAURANT
Wed., July 13, 6:30 PM
Directed by Mai Tominaga


RINGING IN THEIR EARS
Thur., July 7, 9 PM
Directed by Yu Irie


THE SEASIDE MOTEL
Sat., July 16, 4:30 PM
Introduction and Q&A with Director Kentaro Moriya


SKETCHES OF KAITAN CITY
Tue., July 19, 6:30 PM
Directed by Kazuyoshi Kumakiri

STRANGERS IN THE CITY
Sun., July 17, 6:15 PM
Directed by Junji Sakamoto


SWORD OF DESPERATION
Tue., July 12, 6:30 PM
Directed by Hideyuki Hirayama

THREE POINTS
Fri., July 15, 8:30 PM
Introduction and Q&A with Masashi Yamamoto + Sora Aoi After Party


TOILET
Fri., July 15, 6:15 PM
Directed by Naoko Ogigami

TORSO
Sun., July 17, 4 PM
Directed by Yutaka Yamazaki

VENGEANCE CAN WAIT
Thur., July 21, 7 PM
Directed by Masanori Tominaga

WANDERING HOME
Thur., July 21, 9 PM
Directed by Yoichi Higashi



YAKUZA WEAPON
Sat., July 9, 8:15 PM
Director/star, Tak Sakaguchi, and co-director/writer, Yudai Yamaguchi, in person


YUKI AND NINA
Thur., July 14, 9 PM
Directed by Nobuhiro Suwa and Hippolyte Girardot

Other Top News

5 Comments
Sort by: