Get Jazzy with the Game Music Covers of "Press Start"

8-Bit Jazz Heroes releases 10 tracks of Mario, Zelda, and more.


When you're looking to chill out with some music, the last tunes you're likely to think of are platformer themes or the eternal Tetris earworm. But in the hands of California jazz duo 8-Bit Jazz Heroes, your favorite themes have turned into a relaxing soundtrack for a night in.


Press Start is the duo's debut album, released through OverClocked Records. Adam Bellotto and Robby Delosier have rearranged ten fan-favorite tracks for guitar and upright bass, bringing game music a West Coast jazz feel.

Check out the track list:

01.  Plumber's Jump (Theme from Super Mario Bros.)
02.  Catch That Penguin (Slider Theme from Super Mario 64)
03.  Another Water Level (Dire, Dire Docks from Super Mario 64)
04.  Doki Doki Swing (Theme from Super Mario Bros. 2)
05.  Bounty Hunter Bounce (Metroid Medley)
06.  Falling Blocks (Type A from Tetris)
07.  Halcyon Hyrule (Title Theme from Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time)
08.  Windmill's Waltz (Song of Storms from Zelda: Ocarina of Time)
09. Requiem in Forest Green (Lost Woods from Zelda: Ocarina of Time)
10. It's Dangerous to Go Alone! (Theme from The Legend of Zelda)

The duo enjoyed taking the traditionally upbeat music and mellowing it out for the album. The pair have more than 40 years of music experience between them, having performed individually at the Kennedy Center, the Supper Club, the Arsenio Hall Show, and more.


>> Press Start on OverClocked Records

>> Press Start on Spotify

>> Press Start on iTunes

Source: Scarlet Moon Promotions




Kara Dennison is responsible for multiple webcomics, blogs and runs interviews for (Re)Generation Who and PotterVerse, and is half the creative team behind the OEL light novel series Owl's Flower. She blogs at and tweets @RubyCosmos. Her latest story can be found in My American Nightmare.

Other Top News

Be the first to comment!
Sort by: