Naruto Technique
4962 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
34 / M / Malaysia - Kuala...
Posted 4/6/08 , edited 4/6/08
Naruto Technique List
In the anime and manga series Naruto a jutsu is a general term referring to any technique a ninja might use that an ordinary human would likely be unable to naturally imitate. Jutsu often rely on the manipulation of chakra by various methods, the most common of which is hand seals. The hand seals consist of a combination of twelve-animal symbols that derive from the Chinese earthly branches.
In some cases the line between a simple action and a jutsu is blurred and vague, allowing for some humor (Naruto Uzumaki: "What? How did you get loose?!" Sasuke Uchiha: "Rope Escape Technique. It's basic stuff.").
So far, several hundred different jutsu have been revealed, which have slightly different names depending on the media in which they appear. The English versions of the Naruto manga and anime both use different names for the jutsu, which usually don't match the literal translation of the Japanese name for the jutsu. The English dub of the anime tends to leave the word "jutsu" untranslated, whereas the English manga translates it to "[jutsu name] Technique" or "Art of [jutsu name]."

Essential to even the most basic jutsu, chakra is mixture of the energy present in every cell of the body and the spiritual energy gained from exercise and experience. Once mixed, it can be channeled through the chakra circulatory system, which is to chakra as the regular circulatory system is to blood, to any of the 361 chakra points on the body. Through various methods, the most common of which is handseals, the chakra can then be manipulated to create an effect that would not be possible otherwise, such as walking on water.
Depending on the ratio in which physical and spiritual energy is mixed, different types of chakra can be formed. Elemental chakra is the most common product of this, and is used to perform elemental jutsu. The five elemental natures are earth, fire, lightning, water, and wind. Most ninja have a natural affinity to one type of chakra, but have the capacity to create elemental chakra apart from their own affinity. Each element is both stronger and weaker than another. The order is fire, wind, lightning, earth, and water, with each being weaker than the previous and stronger than the next. Water loops back into fire. Additionally, elemental techniques can be countered by techniques of the same element, provided the technique being countered is of equal or lesser power.
Certain kekkei genkai can also create unique elements, such as wood and ice, through a mixture of the basic elements, which normal ninja are incapable of doing. While some ninja are capable of producing varied types of chakra, they can't do so simultaneously. Yamato also mentions light and dark chakra, but doesn't elaborate on what they're used for. An example of dark chakra would be the Nara clan, as seen when Shikamaru uses chakra knives to absorb his chakra, and give it the same abilities as his Shadow Imitation Technique. Examples of light chakra haven't been given yet.

Basic Information:
Generally speaking, jutsu are divided into three categories: genjutsu, ninjutsu, and taijutsu. Ninjutsu also has two sub-categories: sealing jutsu and cursed seal jutsu, which are jutsu used to create seals for various purposes.
There are also kekkei genkai abilities. These are not actually jutsu, but genetically-inherited abilities that are only possessed by specific clans. Some jutsu are based on kekkei genkai, like Itachi Uchiha's Tsukuyomi, and are considered Hiden jutsu.
Depending on the difficulty or skill necessary to perform a jutsu, they will be ranked differently. There are a total of six ranks, plus two informal ranks for special circumstances. The rank of a jutsu doesn't necessarily mean it will be more effective than a lower-ranked jutsu, just more difficult to perform properly. The overall effectiveness of any given jutsu is largely based on individual skill. The two informal ranks are Hiden jutsu and kinjutsu . Hiden jutsu are jutsu passed down from generation to generation within a clan. These jutsu are not ranked since no one outside the clan knows how to perform them. Kekkei genkai-based jutsu also fall under this rank since it is impossible for anyone else to perform them. Kinjutsu, on the other hand, often do fall into one of the six main ranks, but are an exception because they are forbidden (or, at the very least, frowned upon) to learn or perform. A technique can be categorized as forbidden if it either causes great harm to the user, such as opening the Eight Gates, or if the techniques are dark or sinister in nature, such as those used by Orochimaru. The six main jutsu ranks are as follows:

· E-rank: Academy student level
· D-rank: Genin level
· C-rank: Chunin level
· B-rank: Jonin level
· A-rank: Kage level or Jonin level
· S-rank: Secret: extreme level or Kage level

You must be logged in to post.