First  Prev  1  2  3  4  Next  Last
Videos Randomly Freezing
72359 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
25 / M / UofL; Louisville, KY
Offline
Posted 10/30/09
My problem is these videos keep freezing every single second; the problem seems to fix for about an hour if I delete my history and my cookies and then do a disk cleanup. The problem is though it doesn't fix it. Why can't I watch videos like any normal person? Also even if I watch to say 15:00 into a video and it froze from 1:00 - 15:00 if I went back to say 0:50 it would STILL freeze all over again. Can anyone either help me fix this or tell me what's the problem?
Kill la Moderator
AHTL 
77744 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
25 / Norway
Offline
Posted 11/1/09
Engineer
88001 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
28 / M / California
Offline
Posted 11/1/09 , edited 11/1/09
I think the problem was with the title of the thread. It made it seem like an open ended thread but this is about a problem with the site, so I'll just change the title.

What exactly happens visually when it freezes? You said you cleared your history and cookies, does that include the browser's cache? If not, try that. There's definitely problems with this new player that seems to cause it to not work on some computers. Still trying to figure it out but I haven't found any common links between the reports.
72359 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
25 / M / UofL; Louisville, KY
Offline
Posted 11/1/09
It's just like your manually pausing the video on and off every second for a good 10-20 minutes. Browser's cache is the "50MB storage" right? if so yes, I hit clear cache.
34511 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
Offline
Posted 11/1/09

Khaltazar wrote:

It's just like your manually pausing the video on and off every second for a good 10-20 minutes. Browser's cache is the "50MB storage" right? if so yes, I hit clear cache.


well the cache's size can be customized. anyway if you still having the problem try report everything you found. im sure feedbacks are mostly welcomed since many user are facing about the same problem as you are.
try to-
-refresh the page
-open the new tab of the same current video you are watching without closing the original tab
-try viewing with other browser if you have
-disable any downloading thing you have, or better says use your internet solely to view video here
-disable internet security ex norton, kaspersky (on own risk)
-anything you think can solve the problem...just dont get your pc crash

@mods:anyway why did you guys put away the old player?
Engineer
88001 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
28 / M / California
Offline
Posted 11/2/09
^ Old player was removed to focus on the new player I guess.

I'm not sure why the problem would only happen sometimes and not happen at other times. Next time it happens, run a Speedtest and a Pingtest then link to the results to completely rule out a network problem.
http://www.speedtest.net/
http://www.pingtest.net/

You could clear your Flash cache by going to this page and uncheck, then recheck the 2 boxes. This could help if you have a bad file cached.
http://www.macromedia.com/support/documentation/en/flashplayer/help/settings_manager03.html

Also, post the following information about your computer.
- CPU/Processor speed (ex. 2.4GHz)
- CPU/Processor type (ex. Intel Core 2 Quad)
- Amount of RAM (ex. 4 GB)
- Amount of Free Disk space on your C: (ex. 20.9 GB)
72359 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
25 / M / UofL; Louisville, KY
Offline
Posted 11/4/09
This is not working; I am getting VERY annoyed. This has been going on for THREE weeks. At this rate I am just losing $5 a month paying for a membership.

Here is the information you requested:

Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition Version 2002 (Service Pack 3)

Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU
6400 @ 2.13 GHz
2.13 GHz, 1.98GB of RAM
Physical Address Extension

Hard Disk Drive (Local Disk C:)

Used: 41,292,509,184 bytes [38.4 GB]
Free: 208,755,970,048 bytes [194 GB]
Total: 250,048,479,232 bytes [232 GB]

I have tried speed test; they show 9.96 GB Download with 998 MB Upload speed which is normal for my ISP company.
I visited that Flash site it didn't help not even a little; if at all it made videos load slower.
Engineer
88001 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
28 / M / California
Offline
Posted 11/4/09 , edited 11/4/09

Khaltazar wrote:

This is not working; I am getting VERY annoyed. This has been going on for THREE weeks. At this rate I am just losing $5 a month paying for a membership.

Here is the information you requested:

Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition Version 2002 (Service Pack 3)

Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU
6400 @ 2.13 GHz
2.13 GHz, 1.98GB of RAM
Physical Address Extension

Hard Disk Drive (Local Disk C:)

Used: 41,292,509,184 bytes [38.4 GB]
Free: 208,755,970,048 bytes [194 GB]
Total: 250,048,479,232 bytes [232 GB]

I have tried speed test; they show 9.96 GB Download with 998 MB Upload speed which is normal for my ISP company.
I visited that Flash site it didn't help not even a little; if at all it made videos load slower.


The other guy asked so I didn't but I wanted you to verify whether or not it happens on more than one type of browser, so you can try it on a different browser to see if you get the same results?

Also, does the play/pause button keep appearing when this happens?

Edit: It could be a CPU issue. Try the following:
- Make sure no other programs are open
- Try the same episode on SD, 480P and 720P qualities to see if the problem appears on all qualities
- Right click on the video and disabling Video Smoothing and disable Subtitle Smoothing.
- Then check the episode on SD, 480P and 720P qualities.

If the problem happens before disabling those and not after, then it's a CPU issue.

Also, what resolution is the monitor/TV that you are watching the videos on? If you watch a video on a high resolution monitor/TV in fullscreen mode without Hardware Acceleration enabled in your Flash settings, there could be stuttering problems.

If you right click on the video player and select Settings, a little popup box will show up called Adobe Flash Player Settings. Here you will need to navigate to the Display settings and make sure Enable Hardware Acceleration is checked. In this case, you'll need Smooth Subtitles disabled.
72359 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
25 / M / UofL; Louisville, KY
Offline
Posted 11/4/09
1.) Try a different browser to see if the same results occur.

Same results did occur. Both Firefox and Internet Explorer share the same issue. At first it seemed Internet Explorer worked well until it started acting up as well.

2.) Does the Play / Pause button keep appearing when this happens?

No, it stays in "Play" mode and just freezes. I just described it as a type of pause, however, it doesn't pause it just stops for a second and resumes playing. It is possible to watch the entire video through this constant freezing but it ruins the video for me to listen to something like "Hey Er...in... ar...e... you going to... s...ee... th...e... Oh...ju... ag...ain today?" Every single line is ruined like that.

3.) Make sure no other programs are open.

Only this site is open to view the videos. No other program at all.

4.) Try the same episode on SD, 420P and 720P and see if the problem appears on all qualities.

As far as I know it is any quality but I will try other qualities more when it happens to see if problem continues. What would it mean if 420P works but the 720P doesn't?

5.) Resolution of monitor and full-screen hardware acceleration enabled.

My monitor I just purchased about a month ago is 1600x900 Wide-screen. I don't like it but what can you do when BestBuy only sells Wide-screens? Also, hardware acceleration has been enabled since I joined this site. All my settings have been the same for months now.

Thank you for your time, I hope we can fix this issue quickly. -Khaltazar.
Engineer
88001 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
28 / M / California
Offline
Posted 11/4/09 , edited 11/4/09
If it happens on 480P and not 720P, it could either be a CPU issue or a network issue.

Usually when sorting out computer issues like this, it's easiest to be in physical contact with the computer in question, but naturally I can't do that. I know I'm asking a lot of questions but these are the things I would do if I were there. Unfortunately, it can be a long and arduous process to locate certain problems.

So when the problem presents itself again, make sure to go through the bulleted points in my previous message and record your findings. Also try to run the following tests when this happens.
http://www.speedtest.net/
http://www.pingtest.net/

When everything is resolved, you'll get some free membership to compensate for lost time.
72359 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
25 / M / UofL; Louisville, KY
Offline
Posted 11/4/09

BasouKazuma wrote:

If it happens on 480P and not 720P, it could either be a CPU issue or a network issue.

Usually when sorting out computer issues like this, it's easiest to be in physical contact with the computer in question, but naturally I can't do that. I know I'm asking a lot of questions but these are the things I would do if I were there. Unfortunately, it can be a long and arduous process to locate certain problems.

So when the problem presents itself again, make sure to go through the bulleted points in my previous message and record your findings. Also try to run the following tests when this happens.
http://www.speedtest.net/
http://www.pingtest.net/

When everything is resolved, you'll get some free membership to compensate for lost time.


Okay, here is what I got.

When the videos freeze my http://speedtest.net/ says 9.91 Download 970 Upload. The videos freeze on SD, 420P and 720P equally. Even after I did what you said it still is freezing. This happens on both Firefox and Internet Explorer. My computer specs are above if you need those.
Engineer
88001 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
28 / M / California
Offline
Posted 11/5/09
I'm thinking this is somehow a network issue. So I need you to make sure you do a Ping Test.
http://www.pingtest.net/

Are you using a wireless internet connection?

Also, do the following so I can see what server you are streaming from as well as some other information about your connection to the server:
1) Click the Start button and then click on Run.

2) In the Run window, type "cmd" without quotation marks and press Enter/OK.

3) When the black Command Prompt opens, type in "nslookup cp71915.edgefcs.net" without the quotation marks and press Enter.

4) Type "ping cp71915.edgefcs.net" without the quotation marks and press Enter.

5) Type "tracert cp71915.edgefcs.net" without the quotation marks and press Enter.

6) Right click anywhere in the command prompt, click Select All and press Enter to copy the text. Then paste it in a reply to this message and I'll check it out.

Example:
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

>nslookup cp71915.edgefcs.net
Server: UnKnown
Address: 192.168.0.1

Non-authoritative answer:
Name: a116.vi5g5.akafms.net
Address: 72.246.19.95
Aliases: cp71915.edgefcs.net
a116.v719154.c71915.b3.vi5.akamaistream.net


>ping cp71915.edgefcs.net

Pinging a116.vi5g5.akafms.net [72.246.19.95] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 72.246.19.95: bytes=32 time=95ms TTL=124
Reply from 72.246.19.95: bytes=32 time=8ms TTL=124
Reply from 72.246.19.95: bytes=32 time=8ms TTL=124
Reply from 72.246.19.95: bytes=32 time=56ms TTL=124

Ping statistics for 72.246.19.95:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 8ms, Maximum = 95ms, Average = 41ms

>tracert cp71915.edgefcs.net

Tracing route to a116.vi5g5.akafms.net [72.246.19.95]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 8 ms 13 ms 7 ms 10.126.32.1
2 16 ms 7 ms 7 ms dstswr1-vlan4.rh.brptct.cv.net [67.83.224.193]
3 * * * Request timed out.
4 9 ms 8 ms 9 ms a72-246-19-245.deploy.akamaitechnologies.com [72
.246.19.245]
5 10 ms 11 ms 14 ms a72-246-19-95.deploy.akamaitechnologies.com [72.
246.19.95]

Trace complete.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
72359 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
25 / M / UofL; Louisville, KY
Offline
Posted 11/5/09
1.) http://www.pingtest.net/

Packet Loss: 0%
Ping: 87ms
Jitter: 4ms
Grade: B

2.) Are you using a wireless connection?

No, it is a direct cable ethernet cord hooked up from my PC straight to my modem. No router is used.

3.) Black Command Prompt Information

* Should I post this on the forums or should I email it to you? *
19114 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
25 / F / Canada
Offline
Posted 11/9/09
Umm, I'm also having the same problem. I'm not computer-literate, so I only understand a little of what's being said here, but I would really like to be able to fix this problem otherwise it's not worth the membership.
aeular 
61181 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
M
Offline
Posted 11/10/09
I am also having this problem, and I am computer literate. I can concretely say at least my problem is a buffering problem(more so running out of buffer, so the player pauses to buffer more). The problem isn't my internet connection, nor my computer (speed tests pull >15 mbps duplex when testing to a location cross country, >= 20 mbps tested to nearby location). I find that the buffering problem stops on an episode if I pause it, do something else for 30 seconds, then come back to it, which tells me its only -barely- not keeping up. The problem is a lot worse when I am watching 720p then 480p. Now whether the data throughput problem is a server problem, server's data link problem, or a problem backbone jump (or jumps) between me and crunchyroll I can not say. Next time I start to have the problem, I will capture the exact address of the server that I am using and check the traceroute.
First  Prev  1  2  3  4  Next  Last
You must be logged in to post.