First  Prev  1  2  3  Next  Last
Fail to Load Videos (w/Charter Communications)
42013 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
29 / M / Florissant, Missouri
Offline
Posted 6/20/10
Worked for me. Thanks.
aeular 
76182 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
M
Offline
Posted 6/20/10
Well, this is going to be ugly for Mac OSx, but, open terminal and type in "sudo vi /etc/hosts" without quotes and hit enter. Its going to ask you for a password, this should be your account password (you have to be on an administrative account I think). Give it your password, once it loads hit the insert key, go to the end, hit enter to put a new line, type out the line to add, hit esc then type ":wq" without the quotes then hit enter.
52063 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
31 / M
Offline
Posted 6/20/10
Worked like magic for me too.
Will this cause any problems for other websites though?
73613 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
104
Offline
Posted 6/20/10 , edited 6/20/10

dragonlupin wrote:

Worked like magic for me too.
Will this cause any problems for other websites though?


IT worked for me too. I don't think it will because only that server seems to be having connection issues. It is reasonable to assume CR outsourced their content library to 3rd party servers and that server is one of the streaming servers for CR. Therefore, it probably will not affect other websites unless they're using the same company.
aeular 
76182 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
M
Offline
Posted 6/21/10
As I under stand it, that line will only affect CR as that FQDN is unique for CR's account with edgefcs (video host)
62573 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
33 / F / Everywhere
Offline
Posted 6/21/10

For computers with windows Vista/7:

- Click the Start button, and type "C:\windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts" without the quotation marks in search and press Enter.
- Chose Notepad to open the file.
- Add a new line at the bottom with "63.84.95.101 cp71915.edgefcs.net" without the quotes
- Save and Quit Notepad
- Relaunch your browser
- Try streaming a video.


I did exactly that but its not letting me save the file.. When I click save it say's "Cannot create the C:\windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts file, Make sure the path and file name are correct" I clicked okay and it prompts me to create the file, I tried that and it says "File already exists would you like to overwrite this file" I said Okay and then it goes back to "Cannot create the..."
Zan 
58005 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
27 / M / Texas
Offline
Posted 6/21/10

KieraKitty wrote:


For computers with windows Vista/7:

- Click the Start button, and type "C:\windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts" without the quotation marks in search and press Enter.
- Chose Notepad to open the file.
- Add a new line at the bottom with "63.84.95.101 cp71915.edgefcs.net" without the quotes
- Save and Quit Notepad
- Relaunch your browser
- Try streaming a video.


I did exactly that but its not letting me save the file.. When I click save it say's "Cannot create the C:\windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts file, Make sure the path and file name are correct" I clicked okay and it prompts me to create the file, I tried that and it says "File already exists would you like to overwrite this file" I said Okay and then it goes back to "Cannot create the..."


Got the same issue.
aeular 
76182 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
M
Offline
Posted 6/21/10
Are you guys on normal user accounts on your Windows? if so you might have to instead open notepad by right clicking it and using Run As Administrator, and then telling it to open that file throught the notepad menu.
73613 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
104
Offline
Posted 6/21/10 , edited 6/21/10

aeular wrote:

Are you guys on normal user accounts on your Windows? if so you might have to instead open notepad by right clicking it and using Run As Administrator, and then telling it to open that file throught the notepad menu.


In windows vista/7 you must open %WINDIR%\system32\drivers\etc\hosts through notepad via right click + "Run as Administrator".

Open Start Menu

Type "notepad" in the search bar (Windows 7)
or
All Program -> Accessories -> Notepad

Right Click on the icon

Click "Run as Administrator"

Notepad will open

#Then go to

File -> Open

locate your hosts file in %WINDIR%\system32\drivers\etc\ (You will need to select all files)
(e.g. C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc\hosts)

The hosts file will looks something like:



Add a new line at the bottom to read:



File -> Save

Done.


Linux Users:

from the terminal:

# vi /etc/hosts

add the line "63.84.95.101 cp71915.edgefcs.net" before ipv6 (if applicable) and after ipv4 entries.
15767 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
Greed Island
Offline
Posted 6/21/10
wow ty aeular the code thing worked perfectly for me but i was wondering around for like 20 minutes cus i forgot to put it to the ALL FILES thing lol
62573 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
33 / F / Everywhere
Offline
Posted 6/21/10

aeular wrote:

Are you guys on normal user accounts on your Windows? if so you might have to instead open notepad by right clicking it and using Run As Administrator, and then telling it to open that file throught the notepad menu.


lol Silly me and silly Vista.. Yes that worked Thanks a ton yo! Didn't feel like leeching from my backup site anymore there quality is poopy.. All works now! <3

0su 
75017 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
31
Offline
Posted 6/22/10 , edited 6/22/10
63.84.95.101 cp71915.edgefcs.net
Works for me. I even tried removing it (didn't work) re added (worked and I didn't even have to restart the browser)
16042 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
31 / M
Offline
Posted 6/24/10
It crashed flash player big time the first time i did it but i reset it and tried it again and now everything is working great! Thanks for the post =D. And now to catch up to shippunden.
73392 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
Offline
Posted 6/25/10
Yeah, I've been having this same problem! I pinged out to the same server as what you mentioned.

So... I just followed your instructions, Aeular and now I can watch videos again from Crunchyroll! Thank you!!
I'm so happy that this worked because I've had this problem for a few weeks.

I'll remember this change you gave us and if it stops working, I'll let you know.

Thanks again! Yay!
62053 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
53 / M
Offline
Posted 6/29/10
I just followed your instructions. at first it did not work.
but i removed ( 127.0.0.1 localhost in the same file.
and now it works great. Thanks
First  Prev  1  2  3  Next  Last
You must be logged in to post.