First  Prev  1  2  Next  Last
wondering where deleted things go..
4246 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
21 / F / Leaf village
Offline
Posted 5/7/11 , edited 5/7/11
:vicx:

edit:
however, in our language, we say 'oori jai', which means 'flew away'. i guess it doesn't really leave the system, right? or it does, obviously.
Posted 5/7/11
all deletions go to heaven.
34602 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
20 / F
Offline
Posted 5/7/11
they sit in hidden on your computer... waiting… until another program needs the space, then they will get overwritten.
4767 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
20 / F / Rainbowland
Offline
Posted 5/7/11
They just Vanish to Dust~
The Poor little deleted programs ;^;
1235 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
20 / M / it doesn't matter
Offline
Posted 5/7/11
they become a spirit or become a hollow ..xD haha
4246 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
21 / F / Leaf village
Offline
Posted 5/7/11
Jeesh guys answer logically? i'm really curious.
19849 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
69 / M / Limbo
Offline
Posted 5/7/11
Pfft, the computer elves come into your house at night and take them away. But they also make away with a portion of your soul.
3712 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
24 / F
Offline
Posted 5/7/11

DRO1 wrote:

Pfft, the computer elves come into your house at night and take them away. But they also make away with a portion of your soul.


FFFFFF- I knew it! I should've bought those elf traps when they were on sale.

But this thread has made me curious. . .
Posted 5/7/11 , edited 5/7/11
Old Digimon and Digimon who receive fatal wounds dissolve into infinitesimal bits of data. The data then recomposes itself as a Digitama and the Digimon goes through its life cycle again. Digimon who are reincarnated in this way will sometimes retain some or all their memories of their previous lifespan. However, if a Digimon's data is "downloaded" as demonstrated in Digimon Tamers, in which all the data of a dying Digimon is absorbed by another, or if the data is completely deleted or destroyed, they will permanently die.

Posted 5/7/11
Mikami Teru deletes everything worth deleting.

85095 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
22 / M
Offline
Posted 5/7/11
What?!?
maffoo 
79814 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
35 / M / England
Offline
Posted 5/7/11

hopfly wrote:

they sit in hidden on your computer... waiting… until another program needs the space, then they will get overwritten.


Not if you use something to securely erase them, like the Linux shred command. Once you use that it's as good as gone, unless you have uber-expensive forensic hardware that might pick up the last few traces of the data
maffoo 
79814 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
35 / M / England
Offline
Posted 5/7/11

RinSister wrote:

Jeesh guys answer logically? i'm really curious.


OK, for a logical answer, the data doesn't go anywhere. The operating system basically says that the part of the disk where it is stored is free space, but the information is actually still physically recorded on the disk. However, over time other data will be written on that part of the disk as the OS sees it as free space, obscuring the existing data, or a program can be used to deliberately overwrite the old data to make it difficult or impossible to recover. Until it's overwritten it is still recoverable, which is why you should always securely erase a hard drive before selling it and ideally if you get a second-hand hard drive, even if it has been formatted (just in case the last owner had downloaded anything illegal - I think the law treats the existing owner of the drive as responsible for anything nasty recovered, in the absence of evidence to the contrary!)
7371 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
27 / M / down the hall on...
Offline
Posted 5/7/11
The Phantom Zone the only place that can hold them
69987 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
40 / M / Where the heart is
Offline
Posted 5/7/11 , edited 5/7/11
A kill disk will take care of that residual data problem. You can google Kill Disk and you'll see the first link to the site who made the program. Apparently they make an installer that "wipes" unused space and doesn't touch windows recognized data. Recognized data is like maffoo describes data that windows acknowledges as accessible (non deleted) data.
First  Prev  1  2  Next  Last
You must be logged in to post.