First  Prev  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  Next  Last
What(book, poem, short story) Are You Reading?
432 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
21 / F / Canada
Offline
Posted 11/30/12
The Will of the Empress - Tamora Pierce (she's one of my all time fave authors, I've read all her books - great for fantasy fans who appreciate strong, independent and well-rounded female protagonists! )

Pardise Lost - John Milton (for school; actually really interesting)
5721 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
20 / M / Australia
Offline
Posted 11/30/12
'Contact', by Carl Sagan.
16104 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
17 / F / United States
Offline
Posted 11/30/12
im reading The Mortal Instruments series. its pretty awesome
5429 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
19 / F
Offline
Posted 11/30/12
The Hobbit - J.R.R Tolkien (almost finished)
R is For Rocket - Ray Bradbury (Just started)
Geektastic - various authors (Half way finished)
Anne of the Island - L.M Montgomery (Half way finished)

My god, I am such a bookworm lol.
29233 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
23 / F
Offline
Posted 12/3/12


You should get a hold of the Palm-of-The-Hand Stories, if you can. You'll probably thoroughly enjoy it. It's very interesting.
I have not read the book, is it comparable to Norwegian Wood? Isn't The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle a bit of a surreal tale?
3026 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
33 / Cincinnati
Offline
Posted 12/3/12
Technically i'm not *reading* any of these because I go the audiobook route, but dammit that should still count:

DresdenFiles: Cold Days by Jim Butcher
The Accidental Sorcerer by K.E. Mills
America A Citizen's Guide to Democracy Inaction by Jon Stewart
and
Monster Hunter Vendetta by Larry Correia

my job allows me headphones(the primary benefit of working strange hours) so I go through audiobooks at a rate that nearly obscene
Posted 12/3/12
(probably gonna get stabbed for this) I'm actually reading Twilight at the moment. xD
And the Life of Pi.
20198 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
22 / M / The Netherlands
Offline
Posted 12/3/12
just finished frankenstein, and finally started with the game of thrones
21730 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
28 / F / California
Offline
Posted 12/3/12 , edited 12/3/12
Besides reading crap for my study materials, I'm currently reading The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson & the Olympians) by Rick Riordan. It's honestly out of my comfort zone, which is why I chose it in the first place (to spice things up), but its pretty interesting. I'm avoiding watching the movie until I'm done with the book.
And yes, I know I'm late lol.
17208 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
26 / F / Seattle
Offline
Posted 12/3/12
I picked up "Grave Expectations" from the library the other day, because it was listed next to the Dickens books. I think it's sort of in the vein of "Pride and Prejudice and Zombies."
16228 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
30 / UK
Offline
Posted 12/3/12
A Storm of Swords, Part 1: Steel and Snow
Book 3 in the Song of Ice and Fire (Game of Thrones) books
26545 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
20 / M / New Jersey
Offline
Posted 12/3/12
American Gods by Neil Gaiman
8118 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
26 / F / Newfane, NY
Offline
Posted 12/3/12
"Dreams from My Father" by Barack Obama

Really interesting read.
1637 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
20 / F / There.
Offline
Posted 12/9/12
Mark Twain's The Adventures of Tom Sawyer
12651 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
25 / M / California
Offline
Posted 12/9/12 , edited 12/9/12
Touching the Fire, a modern Latino poetry collection. I was pleasantly surprised to see that one section contained the work of one of my favorite professors that I studied poetry under.

Haruki Murakami's Hard-Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World. Crazy book that blows your mind. A friend suggested it since it seems to take one of my theories about a "mind" after death and just pops off its cranium (and yours). Just got it early this week and I'm already on the third read-through. I'll probably try to buy all of his books, although they are translations and not actually in Japanese, since I can't read that.
First  Prev  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  Next  Last
You must be logged in to post.