First  Prev  1  2  Next  Last
Post Reply ULTRA annoying pop-up ads from today
23084 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
M / UK
Offline
Posted 5/5/13
You guys had better stop those huge animated pop up ads that take up the bottom 1/3rd of the screen right away.

I'm a paying member and every time I click on the main shows index, I get a stupid 1/3rd bottom of the screen ad for contact lenses. Worse still, If you go to try and click on the close button the monstrous advert expands to fill more than HALF the f***king screen!!!!!!

STOP IT RIGHT NOW YOU WINGNUTS.

Posted 5/5/13 , edited 5/5/13
LOL just don't use the front screen XD i tend stay away from web sits that do huge up down pop ups

i use them contacts any way so its trying sell me more
Otter Modder
31733 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
21 / M / Florida
Online
Posted 5/5/13 , edited 5/5/13
By main shows index do you mean this page, because there are no ads on that page... The only ad I see is the one on the main page and that is just an advert for various shows.
20951 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
51 / Bite the pillow.
Offline
Posted 5/5/13 , edited 5/5/13

Sabineko wrote:

You guys had better stop those huge animated pop up ads that take up the bottom 1/3rd of the screen right away.



Hmnmm...I'm not seeing any pop-ups. The only Ad I see on the main show index is this Ad on the right side:



No pop-up below. The CR homepage has a full page Ad for a show here:



It's not a pop-up...just static. How are you accessing the site? PC? Mac? Tablet? Have you run a Malware/Virus scan on your computer lately? Can you do a screen capture of the Ads so maybe CR support can look at them?

Your ISP might be injecting Ads into some of your web browsing as well.
mipegg 
20408 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
22 / M / England
Offline
Posted 5/5/13 , edited 5/5/13
Im getting them too, I think its for a UK based company so maybe its only UK residents getting them? They really do cover 1/3rd of the screen though

Edit, picture but its a bit large:

20951 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
51 / Bite the pillow.
Offline
Posted 5/5/13

mipegg wrote:

Im getting them too, I think its for a UK based company so maybe its only UK residents getting them? They really do cover 1/3rd of the screen though

Edit, picture but its a bit large:



Ouch. Those are nasty. There was talk back in 2008 of UK based ISPs injecting behavioral based Adverts/Pop-Ups into their subscriber's "click stream" as they browsed the web, but I can't find any recent article that would suggest they followed through with the idea.
mipegg 
20408 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
22 / M / England
Offline
Posted 5/5/13

Hairbelly wrote:


mipegg wrote:

Im getting them too, I think its for a UK based company so maybe its only UK residents getting them? They really do cover 1/3rd of the screen though

Edit, picture but its a bit large:



Ouch. Those are nasty. There was talk back in 2008 of UK based ISPs injecting behavioral based Adverts/Pop-Ups into their subscriber's "click stream" as they browsed the web, but I can't find any recent article that would suggest they followed through with the idea.


Im pretty sure it was deemed illegal, but ISPs in the UK do alot of illegal things and never get punished for it. Running monopolies and such
Posted 5/5/13 , edited 5/5/13
DAM ISP's if so
i all so get this add that drops down from top my screen saying take a servery to XD
mipegg 
20408 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
22 / M / England
Offline
Posted 5/5/13
Still getting them today, its seriously bloody annoying. We shouldnt have to put up with such terrible ads, especially as subscribers!
Otter Modder
31733 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
21 / M / Florida
Online
Posted 5/5/13
You don't have to put up with ads, just use adblock.

mipegg 
20408 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
22 / M / England
Offline
Posted 5/5/13

beardfist wrote:

You don't have to put up with ads, just use adblock.



I could but the. Cr and other media outlets who use adverts won't get the income for it, ads are fine but not when their obnoxious enough to cut off half the screen
Otter Modder
31733 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
21 / M / Florida
Online
Posted 5/6/13 , edited 5/6/13
Are you certain that it is CR's ad? I have yet to see any indication of that ad with or without being logged in, even with a UK IP.
mipegg 
20408 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
22 / M / England
Offline
Posted 5/6/13

beardfist wrote:

Are you certain that it is CR's ad? I have yet to see any indication of that ad with or without being logged in, even with a UK IP.


Given it hasnt appeared on any other website I've ever been on, and that other UK users have it (when my ISP is only active in a very small part of the country) Im fairly sure its CRs end
Posted 5/6/13 , edited 5/6/13
SKY is MY ISP and am getting it
plus ADD blocker slows your PC well it did for one my pc i wont put it in my 3D rending pc not going to chance it at the price i payed for it

but dues look like a CR ADD as there are now .com.co.uk CR witch when i go .com makes me log in again or .co.uk one

he as point off putting for new members that may upgrade to
20951 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
51 / Bite the pillow.
Offline
Posted 5/6/13 , edited 5/6/13
Just an FYI on Adblock Plus (Ad blocking plug-in for browsers): you can can "whitelist" sites that you want Ads to appear on.



So, for example, let's say you visit a small blog that runs banner Ads. You can add that entire site to your Adblock whitelist thereby not denying Ad revenue to the blog owner. You can also whitelist just pages on a domain. So you could block the Ads on the main CR page and the show Index, but leave Ads for the streaming pages.

The current Adblock Plus for both Firefox & Chrome doesn't slow down your browsing experience. I've been using it for years and have tested browsing speeds on a regular basis. It might be worth a try just to see if it blocks these Ads. If it doesn't, just uninstall it.

I realize Adblock Plus doesn't address the real issue here, but it might be a temp stop gap until CR figures out a way to get rid of the pop-ups.

Hope that helps. Cheers.
First  Prev  1  2  Next  Last
You must be logged in to post.