First  Prev  1  2  Next  Last
Post Reply Jumping & stopping play due to cache
39402 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
34 / M / wisconsin USA
Offline
Posted 10/18/13 , edited 10/18/13
windows 7 x64 (all updates done as of 1 days ago)
Browsers used are Chrome and IE9 and it happens on both browsers
PC hardware is
1. AMD Phenom II X6 1055T processor (overclocked to 3.8 GHz liquid cooling
2. Hard Drive is a Crucial SSD SE with a R/W of 550/Megabyte/sec (not Megabit!)
3. Video is a SLI Nvidia 550 Ti
4. Mother Board is a MSI x79 series g65
5. Sound is a Creative X-FI Titanium
6. Router is a D-Link gamelounge and this computer is in the DMZ
7. Internet ISP is Time Warner @ 20Mbit/sec down and 5Mbit/sec up (5 times the speed needed to run you app @ 1080p)
8. Ping is 46 ms
9. DNS is 8.8.8.8 or 8.8.4.4 (Google) same results with OPENDNS
10. DNS is manually set in both the router and PC
11. Android phone does not have these issues on this connection
12. PS3 does not have these issues on this connection
13. RAM is 8GB
14. only 1 monitor port in use
15. ISP account is business level with all ports unrestricted in any way.

These are the issues i am still having as of 12pm(midnight) CST today oct/8/2013
anime is Akagi @ 480 resolution and all other simulcast @ 720p
video is stuttering, stopping to re-buffer, ending and starting next episode at random points in series,
completely stopping and only a deleting of the chrome history and cache can restart the episode from
the beginning(Akagi).

This computer has only be just fully reformatted and a fresh retail version of windows 7 x64 bit put on yesterday. only apps installed are
1. Avast anti-virus
2. adobe flash (newest version with auto update)
3 Java (newest version with auto update)
4. latest drivers and latest BIOS firmware
5. NO OTHER SOFTWARE IS INSTALLED @ THIS TIME
6. adobe setting is set to unlimited storage
7. Chrome cache setting manually set to Maximum of 1GB (i know it is overkill but wanted to make sure is was not this)

Now as stated above ever since you put a DRM limiter on buffering I have had this issue. I strongly believe that everyone on this post (http://www.crunchyroll.com/forumtopic-809295/less-lag?pg=1#44562625) should receive a free 6 months of premium service for our efforts and patience in trying to help you resolve your issues. I have reported via Email many many times about this issue and have tried everything you wanted. I would even be willing to let you remote into my PC so that you can see the issues yourself. Also i strongly believe that putting a buffer used % ( i.e. 100% buffer used) option on the bottom of the video may help to see if it is a buffering issue or if it is a connection drop issue.

i have supported your service since its very beginning and I have to say that it is getting to the point that torrenting a rip of your site's anime would be faster and cause less issues on my end. (i do not condone or do this in any way). They seem to be able to easily get through your DRM and have the files available with-in 10 minuets of the anime episode airing at every available quality!! So a little extra premium service due to the issues is not much to ask. If you were an ISP I would be getting almost 100% free service for this kind of errors.
Posted 10/19/13


I'll make sure that customer service responds to your post in a timely fashion.


To your accusation of " If we were an ISP..." Unless you truely running TW Business and are paying for a leased line ( which for example would cost you over $90 a month for just a simple dedicated T1 with a prioritized committed-data-rate) you have no guaranteed uptime or service level agreement.

So you have most likely a Motorola device as your ISP gateway, which is also doing your NAT from public to private. You are double-NATing through your D-link, and then have chosen to place your workstation into the DMZ ( which is a misnomer, as a real DMZ is a sandbox).

You didn't disclose how your PS3 and Android phone are connected to your network, which I'll guess it wireless, meaning that you have to operate within the constraints of 802.11B/G/N as far as bandwith and TCP overhead.

How much testing have you done from a hardware perspective? Do you know if you're discarding packets? Do you have a sketchy cable that hasn't been terminated properly, allowing excess crosstalk and RF interference, especially in the 2.4GHz spectrum?


If you really want to pull out all the stops, and absolutely verify that this is a Crunchyroll issue, Please provide a wireshark capture in permiscuous mode to verify user to host connectivity.

Looking specificallly for sucessful TCP FIN packets, and no discards or TCP-Sequence errors.
The Wise Wizard
75058 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
53 / M / U.S.A.
Offline
Posted 10/19/13

worldseyes wrote:

video is stuttering, stopping to re-buffer, ending and starting next episode at random points in series, completely stopping and only a deleting of the chrome history and cache can restart the episode from the beginning(Akagi).


Also i strongly believe that putting a buffer used % ( i.e. 100% buffer used) option on the bottom of the video may help to see if it is a buffering issue or if it is a connection drop issue.

If the next video starts (meaning you have autoplay on), the connection is being dropped.

You should be able to restart any series from the beginning simply by repositioning the slider.



Now as stated above ever since you put a DRM limiter on buffering I have had this issue.

CR videos have had DRM since the company went legit at the beginning of 2009. That is not a recent development.

20373 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
50 / Bite the pillow.
Offline
Posted 10/19/13 , edited 10/19/13

worldseyes wrote:

6. Router is a D-Link gamelounge and this computer is in the DMZ


Hmmm.... Do you happen to know the model of your D-Link GamerLounge router? How old is it? Is it a selectable Dual-Band router (2.4 or 5GHz)? Is the WiFi card on your computer 5G compatible? If so, do you have the 5G band selected?

If you are streaming WiFi through this D-Link router, can your run a speed test using this site: http://testmy.net/ You should see results that look like this (though your numbers will be different):



What are your Download/Upload numbers?


worldseyes wrote:

Now as stated above ever since you put a DRM limiter on buffering I have had this issue..


Hate to say it, but I think that's coincidental. I've never had a problem with CR's DRM and streaming. I really don't think that's it.

About a year ago, I was having similar problems as you and many others are having, and then I upgraded my router to a Netgear R6250. I've rarely had a problem since. Streaming has been rock solid on all encodings (SD to 1080P) and I'm streaming clear across my house to two other rooms. There are occasional hiccups, but nothing regular.

I'm in Michigan, so I'm just around the corner from you.
39402 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
34 / M / wisconsin USA
Offline
Posted 10/19/13 , edited 10/19/13
@ the wise wizard yes they have had DRM but not until about 9 months ago did they reduce the ability to cache the episod to 2-3 min at a time.

@ hairbelly it is a direct line connection @ 1 gigbit/sec and i also have the same problem even if i connect directly to the modem. It may have something to do with my ISP but i do not think so. DMZ for FYI means the router does nothing to packets for that ip address other then routing and it make the pc act like it is not even using the router other then DHCP. The firmware installed on this router is a business class firmware as well released just 2 years ago and usage reports on the router show that even under heavy load the router is using less then 40% compacity.
46196 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
M/F - Michigan
Offline
Posted 10/20/13 , edited 10/20/13
I was trying to watch Gingitsune, and on ep 2, it would randomly stop and jump to the next episode... this happened three times. I tried clearing the cache, re-starting firefox, and other such troubleshootings. Finally I get through ep 2, and ep 3 is doing the same thing.

And did a traceroute... looks like after jumping off my isp, it gets dodgy at 3, and then continues on.

Tracing route to crunchyroll.com [38.72.194.43]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms dsldevice.att.net [192.168.1.254]
2 29 ms 28 ms 41 ms 107-214-200-3.lightspeed.gdrpmi.sbcglobal.net [1
07.214.200.3]
3 * * * Request timed out.
4 24 ms 23 ms 23 ms 12.83.33.133
5 187 ms 29 ms 29 ms cgcil02jt.ip.att.net [12.122.81.17]
6 72 ms 71 ms 63 ms be2000.ccr21.ord03.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.12
.85]
7 65 ms 70 ms 73 ms be2003.ccr22.ord01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.29
.21]
8 99 ms 98 ms 96 ms be2157.ccr22.mci01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.6.
117]
9 124 ms 114 ms 112 ms be2133.ccr22.sfo01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.30
.65]
10 123 ms 112 ms 113 ms be2167.ccr22.sjc01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.28
.78]
11 120 ms 123 ms 113 ms te7-2.ccr01.sjc05.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.84.
54]
12 123 ms 123 ms 114 ms 38.122.92.6
13 122 ms 117 ms 117 ms 38.72.194.43

Trace complete.
39865 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
28 / M / Dallas, TX
Online
Posted 10/20/13

kitsuneshoujo wrote:

  3     *        *        *     Request timed out.


All that really means is that node doesn't respond to ICMP requests. It's not uncommon to see a lot more of those in any trace, and isn't indicative of a network issue in itself. It'd be another story if the trace wasn't able to complete after reaching that node.
Vegetable Support Manager
Bjaker 
36411 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
34 / M / San Francisco
Offline
Posted 10/21/13
So... yeah!

Gonna be short here, it's Monday and I've not had coffee yet.

No, you can not have 6 months of free service.

I am sorry, however, that you're having issues streaming.

What are we doing about this? We're currently working to enhance the Flash Player so that issues like this aren't a problem. We're also adding additional CDNs to have more robust serving.

Generic-ish answer? Yes. Will I elaborate more? Later.

Best,
-Baker
39402 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
34 / M / wisconsin USA
Offline
Posted 11/14/13 , edited 11/14/13

Csgod0 wrote:

I'll make sure that customer service responds to your post in a timely fashion.


To your accusation of " If we were an ISP..." Unless you truely running TW Business and are paying for a leased line ( which for example would cost you over $90 a month for just a simple dedicated T1 with a prioritized committed-data-rate) you have no guaranteed uptime or service level agreement.

So you have most likely a Motorola device as your ISP gateway, which is also doing your NAT from public to private. You are double-NATing through your D-link, and then have chosen to place your workstation into the DMZ ( which is a misnomer, as a real DMZ is a sandbox).

You didn't disclose how your PS3 and Android phone are connected to your network, which I'll guess it wireless, meaning that you have to operate within the constraints of 802.11B/G/N as far as bandwith and TCP overhead.

How much testing have you done from a hardware perspective? Do you know if you're discarding packets? Do you have a sketchy cable that hasn't been terminated properly, allowing excess crosstalk and RF interference, especially in the 2.4GHz spectrum?


If you really want to pull out all the stops, and absolutely verify that this is a Crunchyroll issue, Please provide a wireshark capture in permiscuous mode to verify user to host connectivity.

Looking specificallly for sucessful TCP FIN packets, and no discards or TCP-Sequence errors.


@ baker
Thank you Baker for the answer. Can you please help me get to the bottom of this so that everyone affected by this from TWC will have no more complaints. I was not including myself in that list but I seriously think something needs to be done to retain customers as I would like to keep seeing CR for many years to come.

@Csgod0

I do have a business class OC connection to TWC with a SLA
The hardware Provided by TCW is straight pass through
DMZ in my hardware/software environment means no pre or post processing of information is done on any packets for a set IP address. I stated this to ensure you that no firewall or other router setting could be at fault in this configuration.

As for the PS3 it is a Hard line connection shielded CAT 6. The PC is also CAT 6 Shielded wire. The android phone though is getting it's connection from a separate AP that is then Hard line connected to the Router. This line to is a shielded CAT 6 line. The AP is in another part of the building from the router and PC being used to watch/test Crunchyroll. This test has been done on not one But 4 separate PC's all of different makes but I believe that the built-in NIC is a Realtec on them all. They are all on their own shielded CAT 6 cable and reside in different places in the building.


Just so we are clear this seems to be a problem with mostly Wisconsin based TWC ISP.(Only ISP I can test ATM so take that for what it is worth) So to that end I did make a trip down to there Wisconsin NOC center for TWC for further testing. Using a tracert I obtained from my home PC I obtained the pass-though hardware IP and did a reverse look-up. Then With the help of the NOC staff we proceeded to eliminate each and every pass-though device from the tracert. This is what we found.

They are on a Dedicated OC48 @ their NOC so No connection based issues there.
Here is the tracert


Now I do not know were your CDN's are but I am using the base website for this test. (if you give me a IP address of my local CDN we can retest using that.)
All devices did a continuous ping test from them to the website since we lack specifically how to connect to a CDN.
All devices showed the same thing these devices are hops 2-11 @ hop 13 which is the website in question there was extremely high lag average. High peek in ms is rounded to the nears hundreds and 1200ms is the number we maxed at and average was 700ms. We also had a packet loss averaging over 30% from each device. They continued this ping test for 72 hours and noticed something interesting. during the hours of 12pm CST to 3am is were most often there was packet loss. Also between the hours of 3am CST to 7am the lag was greatly reduced and the systems showed a average of less then 100ms. This may have to do with load.

As for hardware testing all machines have been stress tested for 72 hours using prime and also bench-marked.

As for doing a Wireshark capture I eliminated my environment by going to the TWC NOC and having the same results there. Thus I do not believe there is a need for it.
Vegetable Support Manager
Bjaker 
36411 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
34 / M / San Francisco
Offline
Posted 11/15/13 , edited 11/15/13


If none of the remedies listed in the Help / FAQ section are helping, all I can say is we're working on improvements for the Flash Player as well as our CDN selection which should be live by the end of Q1 2014.
Posted 11/19/13


I'm sorry to hear your industrial ISP is not working for you, but Baker is right, and the CDN upgrades of Q1 will make a difference.

meanwhile, I'll just leave these here.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DMZ_(computing)

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/solutions/Verticals/CPwE/CPwE_chapter4.html#wp1043445
39402 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
34 / M / wisconsin USA
Offline
Posted 11/24/13
@baker
Have you updated anything to do with the flash player or CDN's in the last 2 weeks. If not I do believe I have found the solution to everyone's issues with stuttering play. So if you did do a update can you find out the date and time in CST and post it here. I want to make sure this is not you finally fixing the issue's.

As I said above all the PC's are having the same issue on a OC connection with a Sonicwall 240 router and a pass-through hardware modem/OC equipment. Even though all the Motherboards are different even as much so as 2 of my 4 are AMD one using a 1055T x6 MSI 990FX-GD65 core and the other is running a X8 core bulldozer 990 Chipset. Both are using the 990FX chipset. As for the other 2 one is I5 and the other is I7 unknown motherboards stats at this time. I did find a commonality between them all though. They all have the a Realtek PCI-E Ethernet built into the motherboard. Realtek as of 10-13-2013 released a beta driver of which I did not install. However MSI about 2 weeks ago released that driver for the X6 MSI 990FX-GD65 motherboard. When I installed this new driver the issue went away on that machine. So I then downloaded this driver version to all the PC's and BAM they all work 99.99%(I never give a 100%) no issues. I even marathoned 12 episodes in 1080p today (which I could only get 720p to work half of the time before and had very little issues with 480p but could never watch a 1080p without bad pausing and stuttering during playback.) With NO ISSUES!!!

Here is the Link to the MSI page for the driver. It seems to work great on all of them.

http://www.msi.com/product/mb/990FXA-GD65.html#/?div=Driver&os=Win8 64


here is the detailed info

Realtek PCI-E Ethernet Drivers (W8)

Description __Network Driver____________Version_______8.19.726.2013
Type________On-Board LAN Drivers______Release Date__10/18/2013
OS_________ Win8, Win7, Vista, XP _______X32 - X64
Download___realtek_pcielan_8_mb.zip ___ File Size______5.75 MB


This Driver said it is for win8 x32 and x64 However I am using it on 1 win7 x32 and 3 win 7 x64. This Driver has worked for even XP and Vista. It is not Motherboard specific. I called MSI and verified this. This is a official release. If the people there at Crunchyroll did not change anything yet this very well may solve A LOT of peoples issues. As such could we have Crunchyroll post a top tier Sticky to have other people try it and see if it also works for them. If it does then it may NOT be as much of load issue as the other testing has indicated. Though the upcoming upgrades with still also help Crunchyroll Grow and may resolve some more issues.

@Csgod0 can you also test it on your PC's to help corroborate the evidence and suggest they people try this as you see people posting about similar issues and PM me with results. Remember They need to have the onboard Realtek PCI-E Ethernet. I have found out that almost 90% of current generation motherboards have this for the NIC card.


domo arigatou gozaimasu
davorb 
64161 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
M
Offline
Posted 11/24/13
End of Q1 2014? So basically I've payed for a service that I won't be able to use for four or five months?

Will you guys offer me a refund or should I call the credit card company and do a chargeback?
Posted 11/24/13 , edited 11/24/13

davorb wrote:

End of Q1 2014? So basically I've payed for a service that I won't be able to use for four or five months?

Will you guys offer me a refund or should I call the credit card company and do a chargeback?


Davorb, service is working right now. Videos play right now, just like since 2008 when you joined.. albeit some % of users report playback difficulties.

If you encounter issues with playback, please let us know via the contact us link and we can try to spot work any issues with you, just like this thread.

If you do not want to attempt to investigate issues with your service, or choose to suspend your membership, Customer Service can also assist with that via the Contact Us link.





Posted 11/24/13


I'm glad to hear that a soft fix is working for you. Currently, I'm running Realtek 7.61.612.2012 on

PCI\VEN_10EC&DEV_8168&SUBSYS_84321043&REV_06


and I'm doing alright. Remember, your mileage may vary.
First  Prev  1  2  Next  Last
You must be logged in to post.