First  Prev  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  Next  Last
Post Reply Crunchyroll Roku Information Update!
Crunchyroll Community Manager
37331 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
27 / F / San Francisco
Online
Posted 8/28/14



Hey there agila61!

A lot of your concerns have been covered in a few posts above! Please let me know if you have any other questions or if we missed some things! Thanks so much!

Bee.

55915 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
28 / M / NY
Online
Posted 8/28/14 , edited 8/28/14

SailorBee wrote:
Hi sonic720 ~ !

I will be passing on the request for the ability to turn the auto play feature on and off! I actually have a similar style of watching the series I am keeping up with, so I definitely feel you on this one.

Thanks ~

Bee.


Hi SailorBee,

Sounds great! Thank you for passing my suggestion along. I really appreciate it.
42640 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
60 / M / Earth
Offline
Posted 8/28/14 , edited 8/28/14

SailorBee wrote:
When the update is available, you will be able to enter the episode list by using the episode button from your queue and then you will be on the episode that you are currently on.

So you won't have to scroll through all episodes from episode one anymore.

Bee, that's perfect, thanks.

One more question though, that I have seen elsewhere, and haven't seen addressed yet is the ability for people with bandwidth caps to be able to limit the resolution, even if it would play OK at a better rate, perhaps by episode, but better with a configuration setting so you only have to do it once.

That could be pretty crucial to lots of folks out there with "stingy" ISPs, and also with the recent rumblings about even cable companies considering collecting surcharges if you go over a cap because many people seem to be cutting cable TV charges and going for just streaming now. I'm sure i would be in trouble too, if that happens, I download nearly a terabyte every month in a multi-geek household. (not just from CR though, I might add )
40208 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
99 / luftballons
Offline
Posted 8/28/14 , edited 8/28/14
I just wanted to post that I appreciate the effort I'm seeing today, along with some of the progress-showing screenshots.

I admit I'm not surprised I got no response to my frothingly-vitriolic post, but I was quite surprised to receive a PM about it and I feel heard, finally, so I also want to express appreciation for that.

I am not, however, won over. It's going to take way too long to get these updates finished and certified by Roku. It's unacceptable that CR is claiming they are unable to offer up the previous app, and it's also not a credible claim. If there's a specific reason why this is not possible, I am happy to entertain an explanation, but as it is, it just seems like more of the usual pig-headed refusal to undo a mistake.

Put the old app on a private channel. Give the channel info to us. Those who care will use it. All anger abates. A very simple solution.

Or explain why not. A well-reasoned explanation also causes anger to abate.
85263 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
27 / M / Louisville, KY
Online
Posted 8/28/14

sena3927 wrote:

Wow! An amazing amount of effort (and vitriol) went into some of these complaints! I mean, tell us how you really feel guys.


All we want (as Roku viewers) is to have a good seamless experience like using a desktop / laptop computer. Let me use a different case to explain why we complain.

If you were a company who made medicine and people who took your medicine started dying hours after taking it and none of their family members cared to complain. This medicine keeps going out because the company thinks it works perfectly fine since no one is making any complaints.

It's the same situation here, no deadly situation, but if we as customers don't complain or give our feedback they (Crunchyroll staff) will not know what needs touched up. They will think the application updated successfully and celebrate. A crucial part of developing any product is user feedback. Sometimes (most times) a QA team will miss certain issues that their users will immediately spot. Users can notice slight changes easily while developers won't because they spent so much time debugging maybe they forgot to get back to some issue.
Bjaker 
51785 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
36 / M / San Francisco
Offline
Posted 8/28/14 , edited 8/28/14


There certainly has been a lot of feedback surrounding how Fast Forward and Rewind currently work.

That said, we're primarily focussing on making sure queue functionality is restored at the moment, as well as working to resolve access for users of certain models & for those who encounter the static issue outlined in Bee's initial post.

I'll make sure to pass all feedback along about how FF & RW work & see if it's something we can't revisit in the near term!

ALSO! For the request to have an episode show time remaining until the next episode, I know that we are working towards parity in experience across all platforms so I'll make sure to bring that up as well!

Best,
-B
20 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
F
Offline
Posted 8/28/14
Are there plans to allow adjusting of stream rate or video quality (SD/HD) from the app itself? I've been experiencing poor quality since this update. Videos stutter (playing for a couple seconds then pausing to load, then repeating) or hiccup (playing a 5-10 second section then pausing and replaying that same 5-10 second section multiple times). I don't have the best internet in the world, just what is currently available in my area, but other channels with HD quality are able to play for me without these issues. Is this due to the new steaming format that Roku forced you to change to, or something else?

Also, is there a way to hide the pause bar on the top of the screen, or option to change its position/size? Sometimes there are subtitles up there and if I pause to read them, that menu obscures them.
Bjaker 
51785 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
36 / M / San Francisco
Offline
Posted 8/28/14


Heya!

Apologies, Bee and I had run off to lunch which is why we had a brief pause in responding to messages. :o

So here's the bottom line. We do understand that some users are upset, and we are doing our best to work on making things right.

We are sorry that you feel so negatively towards what we thought was a really great update.

That said, we do still believe that this update is superior to our prior build & the majority of the feedback we have received has been quite positive. This is one of the core reasons we do not feel the need to roll back to a prior build.

We want a streamlined identity for our brand & are sorry that you do not agree with our vision.

Best,
-B
75652 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
55 / M / Northeast Ohio, USA
Offline
Posted 8/28/14 , edited 8/29/14

Bjaker wrote: There certainly has been a lot of feedback surrounding how Fast Forward and Rewind currently work.

That's understandable ... it would rank up with the episode list and "play episode" among the controls I used the most often in the prior build, so jumping from the best FF ~ at least among all the Roku channels I use regularly ~ to the worst FF really stood out.


Bjaker wrote: We are sorry that you feel so negatively towards what we thought was a really great update.

That said, we do still believe that this update is superior to our prior build & the majority of the feedback we have received has been quite positive. This is one of the core reasons we do not feel the need to roll back to a prior build.

It seems odd that the majority of the feedback you've received is so out of line with the majority of the feedback visible on the site.


We want a streamlined identity for our brand & are sorry that you do not agree with our vision.

The underlying issue is rather that the rewrite of the Roku app entirely removed a substantial slice of capabilities that people used regularly, and downgraded others. Its only natural when the experience of most users of the new interface is lost capability for those users to want to "roll it back". After all, unless we've volunteered to use a beta trial system, its not our job to think through how a new system can be extended to restore the capabilities that were stripped from us.

That suggests that you needed to be more serious in working through the user interface design process for the system you are streamlining onto.

Streamlining that results in boxing yourself into a user interface design decision as strikingly inappropriate for a generic "SmartTV" set-up as [>||] as a "menu" control suggests that you were taking a game-controller-centric UI and wedging it into a remote-control-centric system without leaving enough options on the table during the design process.

And, it goes without saying, streamlining by stripping away capabilities that people value is not a sensible business model for a business that relies on discovery and user word of mouth as heavily as Crunchyroll does.


Crunchyroll Community Manager
37331 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
27 / F / San Francisco
Online
Posted 8/28/14 , edited 8/29/14




Hi there, tobikunai

A. BASIC PRODUCT QUALITY

1.) "Testing" - Something that has been really exciting about Crunchyroll this year, is we have had the opportunity to grow our QA team and we are continually improving our testing process. As far as User Acceptance Testing that's a really great suggestion, and has been successful with other platform releases and we will work towards conducting UAT on all of our devices and applications going forward.

2.) "Roll-back" -- Please see Bjaker's post on this above.

3.) "Missing features" - We pushed this out knowing that there were a few problems, but this app has been SO delayed (since last July) that we decided it was more important to ship it out to launch because we can always update it later on, and we immediately began working on that update the moment it launched. Again, we apologize.

As for "What is stopping Crunchyroll from involving this community of advocates in these decisions?" we appreciate everyone's comment and suggestions, however it is our job and responsibility to look over our products. You are here to enjoy them. We do welcome constructive feedback, comments, and even complaints, but we do not look to you to do what is our responsibility.

B. PRODUCT DESIGN

4.) "Design" - We want a streamlined identity. The design is based on the current playstation application that has had the design user-tested with lots of positive feedback, which is another reason we decided to go with it. We eventually want all of our applications to look the same when they can.

C. PRODUCT MANAGEMENT

5.) "PM" - As for the Survival Guide: Yes, we are aware that someone took the time to help other users acclimate to the new interface and control scheme. We are planning to release a tutorial video and even other information about changes in controls.

6.) As for " Is there anyone at Crunchyroll willing to stand up and say that this app needs to be rolled back and re-architected?" We do not feel as though that is the case. We are all here trying to help you right now, and we are taking the steps to add as many features you guys value as possible. This application is not going to be rolled back, and this UI is consistent with our other platforms and devices.

7.) These are all decisions that have already been made. We recognize that our design decisions are not in line with your opinions. Unfortunately, these are opinions you're giving me. Our design is a carefully thought out process and I don't think we will be changing it because our users have appreciated this design on other platforms, and in fact also on Roku. User feedback actually played a huge part in this particular design choice.

8.)When asking if the person who has the authority when it comes to these questions you're raising. We personally communicate all of your concerns, comments, complaints and feedback to them as part of our job, which is trying to find answers for you.

Thank you for your very detailed concerns, I did my best to address them with the information I was able to obtain.
Please let me know if you have any further questions.

One question though, out of curiosity - what model Roku do you have?

Bee.
Bjaker 
51785 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
36 / M / San Francisco
Offline
Posted 8/28/14 , edited 8/28/14


Victoria actually just addressed several concerns from your edit in the post just behind this one.

Best,
-B
Bjaker 
51785 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
36 / M / San Francisco
Offline
Posted 8/28/14



On it!



Best
-B
Bjaker 
51785 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
36 / M / San Francisco
Offline
Posted 8/28/14


As the Manager of Support, I'm sorry that you're currently unhappy with the existing build.

We're working on an update and are hoping to get it out ASAP.

I hope that some of our feedback to other users has helped shed some light on what it is that we're doing to improve the end user experience.

Best,
-B
Crunchyroll Community Manager
37331 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
27 / F / San Francisco
Online
Posted 8/28/14



As for wanting to select a resolution to stream from -- there are quite a few people who are requesting this ability from within the app. This is something that we are definitely looking into and hope to have it added as a feature!

Best,

Bee.
Bjaker 
51785 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
36 / M / San Francisco
Offline
Posted 8/28/14


As Bee just said in her last post, we have a lot of users requesting this and we absolutely want to be able to offer this as a feature. We'll definitely make sure this is sent along.

Also, @Riandisa, would you be able to let us know what type of Roku you have? The bar at the top of the screen should fade out!!! So this sounds a little weird!

Thanks!
-B
First  Prev  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  Next  Last
You must be logged in to post.