First  Prev  1  2  Next  Last
Post Reply Books you are planning to read / get ideas of what to read next
3871 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
Offline
Posted 8/16/17 , edited 8/16/17
I would like to create a thread about reading books-- getting ideas from various users of what to read next


For now, I guess these 4 are on the list for me




14710 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
22 / M
Offline
Posted 8/16/17 , edited 8/16/17
2103 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
22 / M / US
Offline
Posted 8/16/17 , edited 8/16/17


Yes, but this one is planning to read as well
Plus, I think it's good to get some variety; not everyone visits every sub forum



dulun18 wrote:

I would like to create a thread about reading books-- getting ideas from various users of what to read next


For now, I guess these 4 are on the list for me





Good to see someone differing opinions
The internet (among other things) has created to much of an echo chamber


As for me, just my textbooks (maybe, I haven't actually read a textbook in like 3 years) and Game of Thrones. I read the first one this summer and can't wait to keep going.
26744 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
Offline
Posted 8/16/17 , edited 8/16/17
Game of Thrones, The first book right now
15218 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
22 / AH / Helipad
Online
Posted 8/16/17 , edited 8/16/17
I've been waiting to read George R.R. Martin's The Winds of Winter for a while now.
9450 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
21 / F / Dirt land
Offline
Posted 8/16/17 , edited 8/16/17
I plan on reading Black Beauty and White Fang again. I love those books so much.
20208 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
27 / M
Offline
Posted 8/16/17 , edited 8/16/17
I typically read several of books at a time. I never actually finish a book unless it's fiction.

Anyone who actually reads a lot of non-fiction books leisurely will never actually finish the book. That's just highly inefficient. If you want the most out of a non-fiction book you pick out the most important parts, and then move on.

This is my current set:

Guest Pass Litter Moderator
120690 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
F / Boston-ish
Offline
Posted 8/16/17 , edited 8/17/17

dulun18 wrote:

I would like to create a thread about reading books-- getting ideas from various users of what to read next


I'm moving this over to the Books, etc. forum, and will be renaming it so it's clearly distinct from the existing "currently reading" thread.
635 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
31 / F / Maine
Offline
Posted 8/18/17 , edited 8/18/17
I tend to read several books at a time, unless I am completely engrossed in just one and finish it until the end. I've been reading medical journals and I am looking for another theoretical physics book to read; I find them fascinating. However, this is what I am reading now-





3871 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
Offline
Posted 8/24/17 , edited 8/24/17

zelking wrote:

I plan on reading Black Beauty and White Fang again. I love those books so much.


White Fang by Jack London ? I like his books (dog person here:) . Have you read Call of the Wild ?


9450 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
21 / F / Dirt land
Offline
Posted 8/24/17 , edited 8/24/17

dulun18 wrote:


zelking wrote:

I plan on reading Black Beauty and White Fang again. I love those books so much.


White Fang by Jack London ? I like his books (dog person here:) . Have you read Call of the Wild ?






No I haven't, but I have an app on my laptop that has all the old classics including ones that were banned from libraries. Maybe I can look for it there and check it out for myself.
26325 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
29 / M / Denver, CO
Offline
Posted 8/24/17 , edited 8/25/17
I just read these asian GOT like books by Ken Liu. First is called Grace of Kings, part way through the second but I cant remember what it's called haha.
1810 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
26 / M / USA
Offline
Posted 9/30/17 , edited 9/30/17
I'm saving Creepshow for the Halloween season. I'm also hoping to revisit Something Wicked This Way Comes.

491 cr points
Send Message: Send PM GB Post
22 / M / Iðavöllr
Offline
Posted 10/3/17 , edited 10/3/17
I plan on reading Meditations by Marcus Aurelius at one point.

First  Prev  1  2  Next  Last
You must be logged in to post.