Vampire Knight
Alternative Names:

ヴァンパイア騎士

Vampire Kishi

吸血鬼骑士

VK

VK1


Country of Origin: Japan
Year Produced: 2008
Air Date: Apr 8, 2008 to Jul 1, 2008
Episodes: 13
Type: Series
Page Views: 3701646
Fans: 25611
Forum Posts: 23264
Wall Posts: 43747
Photos Uploaded: 2748

Vampire Knight

Reviews(59)

My review for Vampire Knight

2.0Overall
Supporting Characters: 10
Lead Characters: 5
Plot: 8
Animation: 7
Ending: 3

6.6/10

Poor ending, bland lead characters and okay animation are what lead me to rank this anime so low. Plot could have been better, and the acting could have too. I wouldn't recommend this one.
1 out of 3 people found this review helpful:

dont watch this terrible anime

1.0Overall
i hate this manga the ending is terrible to save you the time, yuki ends up with NO ONE the prince guy leaves her, i dont know what happened to zero, and all this other boring poop with the other vampires is just boring. at the end yuki dies and the prince guy sucks her blood and moves on.

love vampire knight ya

5.0Overall
Yuki's earliest memory is of a stormy night in winter, wherein she was attacked by a vampire... And then rescued by another. Now 10 years later, Yuki Cross, the adopted daughter of the headmaster of Cross Academy, has grown up and become a guardian of the vampire race, protecting her savior, Kaname, from discovery as he leads a group of vampires at the elite boarding school. But also at her side is Zero Kiryu, a childhood friend who's hatred for the creatures that destroyed everything he held dear, is now determined never to trust them. This coexisting arrangement seems all well and good, but have the vampires truly renounced their murderous ways, or is there a darker truth behind their actions. Is Kaname's infatuation with Yuki the beginning of a forbidden romance, or is it something in her forgotten past that draws him to her. Because in this world of secrets, nothing is as it seems. And the price of misplaced trust may even be worse than death.

Hold On Tight.......

5.0Overall
This anime is kind of like an anime version of Twilight, only with less high school drama and more action. Based on the manga by Matsuri Hino, Vampire Knight surely shouldn't disappoint the otakus and vampire fanatics.

The animation and music are simply breathtaking, and the opening and ending theme songs are catchy and have a haunting melody. Characters are devoloped brilliantly, and there are twists and turns at every bend – you never know what will happen!

If you haven't already, go watch this anime NOW!!! You can't watch it here at Crunchyroll, but the DVDs are available on Amazon. Believe me, you won't regret watching this gem.

Dramatic but fun-filled

5.0Overall
Vampire Knight introduced me to the world of manga and anime. I was so obsessed with it when I started reading that I just had to watch it, too! Every twist and turn in the story almost turns into a completely knew plot and I love that about it. Vampire Knight is one of my favorite anime series, and I also like VK Guilty!
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful:

A VK Review By a Guy

3.0Overall
Yeah, I am a guy. And this is my review for Vampire Knight, the first season. I've never watched Guilty. So if there are any mistakes, please don't hate me for it!

Story: 3/5
It's about a girl named Yuki who has to guard the Night Class from the Day Class, but the Night Class are actually a group of Vampires who follows Pureblood Vampire Kaname Kuran. Zero Kiryu, an orphan who holds a grudge against vampires because his parents were killed by them, also has the same job, but is tormented by his transformation into Level E. He meets his Vampire Hunter mentor and eventually fights against his twin brother and the vampire who killed his parents. What's wierd is that the focus is practically on Zero for most of the serious to the point where I began thinking, "Zero is the main character!" And nothing really happens to anyone during the entire anime series (excluding Guilty) except to Zero! There were no plot twists that shocked me and it every episode was so predictable. The only episode that kinda got me was the end, and it pissed me off to no end.

Music: 4/5
I feel the opening and ending themes (mostly the latter) sets the tone for this series pretty well. The classical music also enhances the show and supports several scenes. But the only track that I can remember clearly is Zero's Theme because it plays in almost every episode. Everything else is basically background music and not really memorable.

Characters: 2/5
My biggest gripe for Vampire Knight are the characters because they annoy me to no end. Here's why:
Yuuki: Supposedly the main heroine, but what does she actually do? The few scenes I remember are of her being assaulted by Level Es and having to be rescued by other people. She doesn't even develop in any episode! All she does is think about the things that just happened and then she feels guilty! The closest she gets to character development is her decision to protect Zero and let him suck her blood... and that's it. She really doesn't do anything else other than think.
Zero: Probably my favorite character because he actually goes through character development because the first season practically revolves around him! I feel sorry for all the stuff he's gone through and it gets worse through the first season.
Kaname: Honestly, I don't like him. He's the ringleader of the Night Class and acts like he can do whatever he wants, even acting like a jerk towards Zero. He also doesn't develop throughout the series. Every scene of him actually makes me mad and I don't know why. And no, I'm not a Zero yay/Kaname nay fan.
Night Class: Although they each have their own little personality, they too 'sigh' don't go through any development. My favorite character out of all of them would be Ichijou because he's the nicest, most level-headed Vampire besides Kain. And why in the world is every Night Class Vampire a pretty boy? Is it some sort of rule? While I know it is focused on a female audience, it sets the standards higher for girls seeking a handsome man. And that is NOT good for guys. It kinda promotes the outside more than the inside. Look at Kaname: A good-looking man who acts like a jerk to everyone except Yuki.
Day Class: All just rabid Night Class fangirls who are so one-dimensional and flavorless. I know they aren't supposed to be supporting characters, but besides Yori, they all piss me off because of how immature and predictable they are. Although the Class Rep is funny to watch.
You get my point. The one detail missing for these characters are development which is a big part of anime.

Animation: 4.5/5
Probably the best part of the anime is the animation. It's gorgeous and dark. The fangirls seem pleased by it as well. But their is one thing about it: The fighting scenes. It made me LOL when I watched Zero and Ichiru fight; looked vaguely similar to those high-speed DBZ fights that are more shounen than shoujo. I guess the artists for the series had more emphasis on looks than action, which is fine since it is a shoujo series.

Overall: 3/5 AVERAGE
Blood, romance, and pretty boys are the prime reason the girls watch the anime. If all three of these were missing, I'm sure it wouldn't have the fanbase it has currently. With barely any character development and non-likeable characters, hardcore anime fans and guys probably should stay away. I had to watch the anime in short bursts because I could barely take one episode. But for girls, I guess this anime is for you.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful:

Vampire Knight Review by Amber11223

5.0Overall
Yuuki's earliest memory is of a stormy night in winter, where she was attacked by a vampire... And then rescued by another. Now 10 years later, Yuuki Cross, the adopted daughter of the headmaster of Cross Academy, Kaien Cross, has grown up and become a guardian of the vampire race, protecting her childhood crush, Kaname, from discovery as he leads a group of vampires at the elite boarding school. But also at her side is Zero Kiryu, a childhood friend whose hatred for the creatures that destroyed everything he held dear leaves him determined never to trust them. This coexisting arrangement seems all well and good, but have the vampires truly renounced their murderous ways, or is there a darker truth behind their actions? Because in this world of secrets, nothing is as it seems. And the price of misplaced trust may even be worse than death.



Manga
The first chapter of Matsuri Hino's Vampire Knight premiered in the January 2005 issue of LaLa, where the series is still running. The individual chapters are being collected and published in tankōbon volumes by Hakusensha, with sixteen volumes released in Japan as of May 2012. The series is licensed for an English language release in North America by Viz Media. In addition to publishing the individual volumes, the series was serialized in Viz's Shojo Beat manga anthology from the July 2006 issue until the magazine was discontinued after the August 2009 issue. It is licensed for English release in Australia and New Zealand by Madman Entertainment, which has released fifteen volumes as of December 2011.



Anime
Studio Deen produced a twenty-six episode anime adaptation of the Vampire Knight manga, using many of the same voice actors featured on the drama CDs and directed by Kiyoko Sayama. The episodes started airing on TV Tokyo in Japan on April 8, 2008 and ran until the season conclusion on July 1, 2008. The episodes were also aired at later dates on TV Aichi, TV Hokkaido, TV Osaka, TV Setouchi, and TVQ Kyushu Broadcasting Co. The second season, named Vampire Knight Guilty, premiered on the same station October 7, 2008.[2][3] The final episode aired on December 30, 2008. On July 24, 2009, Viz Media announced it had acquired the license for the Vampire Knight anime and would begin releasing it to DVD on July 20, 2010.[4] In the UK, the first volume was officially released on DVD via Manga Entertainment on November 22, 2010. In Australia, ABC3 began airing the series (English-language version) in March 2011 and began repeats on July 3rd later that year.
The series uses four pieces of theme music. The opening themes of both the first and second season are performed by the duo On/Off, with "Futatsu no Kodō to Akai Tsumi" (ふたつの鼓動と赤い罪?) as the opening for the first season, and "Rinne Rondo" (輪廻 -ロンド-Rinne?) as the opening for the second. Kanon Wakeshima performs the first season ending theme, "Still Doll", and also the second season's ending theme "Suna no Oshiro" (砂のお城?). The soundtrack is composed by Takefumi Haketa and consists of 30 tracks (including the opening theme and ending theme).
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful:

The Best series I've ever seen and read.

5.0Overall
5.0Storyline
5.0Music
5.0Characters
5.0Animation
Vampire Knight is one of the most wonderful Anime's I've ever seen and read i suggest that everyone
reads and watches thin Anime. <3 I will always love Zero and Yuuki together. It's annoying because of
certain characters... (not saying) But I suggest you watch and read this. <3
Prev  1  2  3  4  5  6  Next