AKB48 Announces Tectonic Line-Up Shift

Just when you thought you had the pop super-group figured out, sweeping changes made to organization

Some of those ex-Wall Street advance modeling mathemagicians must be working for pop mastermind Yasushi Akimoto because the latest AKB48 shake-up looks like real Hari Seldon maneuvering.


Leading up to the graduation of Atsuko Maeda, the pop supergroup's first “AKB48 in TOKYO DOME ~1830m no Yume~” concert saw AKB48 Theater’s manager Tomonobu Togasaki announce a sweeping wave of changes. 



Changes started with the elimination of the pop group's “Team 4″ leaving the initial line-up of Team A, K, and B.

Minami Takahashi was appointed as the general manager of the AKB48 groups, with Mariko Shinoda, Yuko Oshima and Ayaka Umeda becoming the captains of teams A, K, and B respectively. Meanwhile, Sae Miyazawa was transferred to spin-off idol group SNH48 (Shanghai, China), with Aki Takajo transferred to JKT48 (Jakarta, Indonesia).

Takahashi told the audience “Nobody knew this would happen. Tokyo Dome is the goal line, and is also our new start line. We need to start something new, and I guess this team shuffle was it. I’m not sure when this shuffle will become effective, but I’m sure none of us [are] taking this as negatively. We are just too confused now. We would like to [be] reborn as the new 48 groups, so please continue watching over us.

Get out your graphing paper or diagramming software because the full extent of the changes include:

Takahashi Minami: Team A captain→ AKB48 Groups’ General Manager

Shinoda Mariko: Team A→Team A Captain(Former Team A captain: Takahashi Minami)
Oshima Yuko: Team K→Team K Captain(Former Team K captain: Akimoto Sayaka)
Umeda Ayaka: Team K→Team B Captain(Former Team B captain: Kashiwagi Yuki)

Yokoyama Yui:  Team K→Team A& NMB48
Kitahara Rie:  Team B→Team K& SKE48
Ishida Anna:  SKE Team KII→SKE48& Team B
Ota Aika:  Team A→ HKT48
Miyazawa Sae: Team K→SNH48
Suzuki Mariya: Team B→SNH48
Takajo Aki: Team A→JKT48
Nakagawa Haruka:  Team A→JKT48

Iwata Karen:  Team 4→Team A
Abe Maria:  Team 4→Team K
Watanabe Mayu:  Team B→Team A
Kojima Haruna:  Team A→Team B
Mutou Tomu: Kenkyuusei→Team K
Oba Mina: Team 4→Team B
Akimoto Sayaka: Team K(No transfer)
Nakamata Shiori:  Team 4→Team A
Ichikawa Miori:  Team 4→Team B
Kasai Tomomi:  Team B→Team xA
Kato Rena:  Team 4→Team B
Matsui Jurina:  SKE48 Team S & Team K(No transfer)
Nakamura Mariko:  Team 4→Team B
Nakata Chisato:  Team A→Team K
Nito Moeno:  Team K→Team A
Oya Shizuka: Team A→Team B
Maeda Ami:  Team A→Team K
Tano Yuuka: Team 4→Team A
Itano Tomomi: Team K(No transfer)
Iwasa Misaki: Team A→Team B
Kobayashi Mirina:  Team A (promoted in June 2012)
Sato Amina:  Team B→Team K
Shimazaki Haruka: Team 4→Team B
Sato Sumire: Team B→Team A
Ishida Haruka: Team B(No transfer)
Matsui Sakiko: Team K→Team A
Kuramochi Asuka:  Team A→Team K
Katayama Haruka: Team A→Team B
Kotani Riho:  NMB48→NMB48 & Team A
Nakaya Sayaka:  Team A→Team K
Yamauchi Suzuran:  Team 4→Team B
Morikawa Ayaka:  Team A (promoted in June 2012)
Uchida Mayumi:  Team K(No transfer)
Fujie Reina:  Team K→Team B
Kawaei Rina:  Team 4→Team K
Izuta Rina:  Team A (promoted in June 2012)
Mitsumune Kaoru:  Kenkyuusei→Team K
Natori Wakana:  Team B (promoted in June 2012)
Tanabe Miku:  Team K→Team B
Sato Natsuki:  Team B→Team A
Iriyama Anna:  Team 4→Team A
Chikano Rina:  Team B→Team K
Kashiwagi Yuki: Team B(No transfer)
Nagao Mariya: Team 4→Team K
Takeuchi Miyu:  Team 4→Team B
Kikuchi Ayaka:  Team K→Team A
Suzuki Shihori:  Team B→Team K
Oshima Ryoka:  Kenkyuusei→Team A
Fujita Nana:  Team K (promoted in June 2012)
Kobayashi Kana: Team B→Team K
Minegishi Minami: Team K→Team B
Kojima Natsuki:  Team B (promoted in June 2012)
Nakatsuka Tomomi: Team K→Team A
Shimada Haruka:  Team 4→Team K
Watanabe Miyuki:  NMB48 & Team B  (No transfer)
Masuda Yuka: Team B→Team K
Takahashi Juri:  Team 4→Team A
Nonaka Misato: Team K→Team B
Miyazaki Miho:  Team B→Team K
Matsubara Natsumi:  Team A→Team K

Maeda Atsuko:  Team A→Graduating


Try to figure that one out, AKB-ologists!


Scott Green is editor and reporter for anime and manga at geek entertainment site Ain't It Cool News. Follow him on Twitter at @aicnanime. 

Other Top News

Sort by: