Kodansha Announces New Manga Licenses and Plans

From cat manga from horror master Junji Ito to return of "Vinland Saga"

Kodansha had a diverse list of manga plans to introduce at this weekend's Anime Boston convention. New licenses include the Shin Megami Tensei family Persona Q and Devil Survivor as well as Ninja Slayer Kills and cat manga from the horror manga master Junji Ito. These are joined by a special edition of Attack on Titan and return the Vinland Saga. 


Junji Ito’s Cat Diary: Yon & Mu

They describe the series:

This is a horror/comedy manga from master of terrorJunji Ito, creator of the grotesque classics Uzumaki and Gyo. A single volume of around 120 pages, this “autobiographical true story” tells of thestrange incidents that occur when the artist’s new girlfriend moves in with twofeline friends. In a large trim size with high-quality paper, the book comesout in October, making it the perfect Halloween gift for any twisted cat lover.



Devil Survivor

This isa manga retelling of the Nintendo 3DS game acclaimed for its excellent storytelling. Atlus will be releasing Devil Survivor 2: Record Breaker on the 3DS in the United States this May. Look for Devil Survivor Vol. 1 this fall!


Persona Q: Shadow of the Labyrinth P3 and PersonaQ: Shadow of the Labyrinth P4

Both manga series are set in the world of thepopular Nintendo 3DS game. The former will feature the characters of the game Persona 3, while the latter will featurecharacters from Persona 4. Look for both this fall.


Ninja Slayer Kills

Tying in with the highly-anticipated Ninja Slayer anime, which premieres this month in Japan and will bestreamed in English by Funimation, Ninja Slayer Kills is an outrageous, ultraviolent parody of samurai cyberpunk. The manga series, based on the original novels, will be released in English starting this fall.


 Attack on Titan 16 Special Edition!

There’s never been a manga release like this. Releasing on the same day as the regular Attack on Titan 16 this August, this special edition will contain a set of premium-quality playing cards, printed by the world-famous US Playing Card Company, each with a different piece of full-color art from Attack on Titan. Of course, it’ll also include a copy of Attack on Titan 16 – with a dust jacket featuring original variant art by a well-known Western comics creator (to be announced). The set will retail for $19.99.


Vinland Saga is coming back from its temporary suspension.

Book Six is coming this September, and Book Seven will be out in December, both in the 2-in-1 hardcover format fans have come to love. However, our license only extends to the end of Book Seven, so for us to be able to finish the series we’ll need fans to pick up these two books!

Scott Green is editor and reporter for anime and manga at geek entertainment site Ain't It Cool News. Follow him on Twitter at @aicnanime.

Other Top News

Sort by: