Ieyasu-kun Crowned #1 Mascot at the 2015 Yuru-Chara Grand Prix

Some 1727 mascot characters competed for the chance to be voted Japan's top mascot


On November 21 - 23, 2015, some 1727 yuru-chara ("laidback character") mascots gathered in Hamamatsu City, Shizuoka Prefecture, Japan in order to compete in the 2015 Yuru-Chara Grand Prix, an event in which the #1 Japanese mascot character of the year is determined by popular vote.



This year's winner was Hamamatsu City's own mascot, Shusse Daimyo Ieyasu-kun, a laidback character patterned after Tokugawa Ieyasu, the founder of the Tokugawa Shogunate. Ieyasu-kun garnered 6,953,461 votes. Second and third place went to Mikyan of Ehime Prefecture and Fukka-chan of Fukaya City, Saitama Prefecture, who received 6,915,774 votes and 4,011,758 votes, respectively. 

A total of about 50,570,000 votes were cast online, and 76,894 people attended the 3-day 2015 Yuru Chara Grand Prix event in Hamamatsu City. Previous notable Yuru-Chara Grand Prix champions include Kumamon in 2011 and Gunma-chan in 2014.



The Japan Times


Paul Chapman is the host of The Greatest Movie EVER! Podcast and GME! Anime Fun Time.

Other Top News

Be the first to comment!
Sort by: