"Trickster" Anime Listed For 24 Episodes

This fall's Trickster anime shifts seminal genre writer Edogawa Ranpo's Boys Detective Club from the early 20th century Showa Era to the year 203X

This fall's Trickster anime shifts seminal genre writer Edogawa Ranpo's (you might know him from Bungo Stray Dogs) Boys Detective Club from the early 20th century Showa Era to the year 203X.  Bandai Visual has posted its home video listing with 8 Blu-ray/DVDs to be released starting January, 2016 for a total of 24 episodes. 




Manga authors Peach-Pit (Rozen Maidenprovide the original character designs for the series starring boy detecting Yoshio Kobayashi (CV: Daiki Yamashita) and Kensuke Hanasaki (Ryota Oosaka), joined by their former leader and now behind-the-scenes advisor, aged 18 Ryo Inoue (CV: Yuichiro Umehara). 


Check out the latest look in a new commercial...


In the series,  15-year-old Kensuke Hanasaki, a member of the club led by private detective Kogoro Akechi, one day meets a boy named Yoshio Kobayashi. The 14-year-old boy has become immortal after being haunted by a mysterious mist. With a strong death wish, he has refused to interact with others. Hanasaki becomes interested in him and asks him to join the club. Their encounter gradually leads to a deep fate between Akechi and his rival criminal The Fiend with Twenty Faces.  



Main staff:


 Director: Masahiro Mukai (Hyperdimension Neptunia The Animation)

 Scenarios/Series Composition: Erika Yoshida (Tiger & BunnyHeroine Shikkaku)

 Original Character Design: PEACH-PIT (Rozen MaidenShugo Chara!)

 Anime Character Design: Shinya Yamada (Your Lie in April animation director)

 Music: Yuuki Hayashi (Haikyu!!My Hero Academia)

 Anime Production: TMS Entertainment (Detective Conan), Shin-Ei Animation (Crayon Shin-chan)


OP song "Kimi dake no Boku de Iru Kara" (I'll be the one only for you) is performed by GACKT, who also voices villain Kaijin Nijumensou (The Fiend with Twenty Faces)


Azusa Tadokoro's 4th single "1HOPE SNIPER" is the ED theme. She also voices Nao Nakamura.


Additional cast includes

Kogoro Akechi/Daisuke Ono


Makoto Noro/Ibuki Kido



 via WTK


Scott Green is editor and reporter for anime and manga at geek entertainment site Ain't It Cool News. Follow him on Twitter at @aicnanime.

Other Top News

Sort by: