Nominees For American Comic Industry's Will Eisner Awards Announced

See what manga made the Best U.S. Edition of International Material—Asia list

Comic-Con International has announced nominations for the American comic industry's prestigous Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards 2017. The nominees were chosen by a panel of expert judges. 


The judges will meet in San Diego in April to select the nominees that will be placed on the Eisner Awards ballot. The nominees will then be voted on by professionals in the comic book industry, and the results will be announced in a gala awards ceremony on Friday, July 21 at Comic-Con in San Diego.


In the manga dominated Best U.S. Edition of International Material—Asia, nominees included

  • The Art of Charlie Chan Hock Chye, by Sonny Liew (Pantheon)
  • Goodnight Punpun, vols. 1–4, by Inio Asano, translated by JN PRoductions (VIZ Media)
  • orange: The Complete Collection, vols. 1–2, by Ichigo Takano, translated by Amber Tamosaitis, adaptation by Shannon Fay (Seven Seas)
  • The Osamu Tezuka Story: A Life in Manga and Anime, by Toshio Ban and Tezuka Productions, translated by Frederik L. Schodt (Stone Bridge Press)
  • Princess Jellyfish, vols. 1–3 by Akiko Higashimura, translated by Sarah Alys Lindholm (Kodansha)
  • Wandering Island, vol. 1, by Kenji Tsuruta, translated by Dana Lewis (Dark Horse)


VIZ Media's release of blanc et noir: takeshi obata illustrations, by Takeshi Obata was also nominated for Best Comics-Related Book


All voting is online. To vote, you must be a professional working in the comics or related industries as a creator (writer, artist, cartoonist, colorist, letterer), a publisher or editor, a retailer (comics store owner or manager), a graphic novels librarian, or a comics historian/educator.


The deadline for voting is June 16.


The judges have also chosen 17 nominees from which voters will select 4 to be inducted in the Hall of Fame this summer. Manga author Rumiko Takahashi (Ranma 1/2, InuYasha) is joined by Peter Bagge, Howard Cruse, Steve Englehart, Justin Green, Roberta Gregory, Bill Griffith, Gilbert and Jaime Hernandez, Francoise Mouly, Jackie Ormes, George Pérez, P. Craig Russell, Posy Simmonds, Walt Simonson, Jim Starlin,, and Garry Trudeau.


See the full list of nominees here.



Scott Green is editor and reporter for anime and manga at geek entertainment site Ain't It Cool News. Follow him on Twitter at @aicnanime.

Other Top News

Be the first to comment!
Sort by: