Exclusive: Dark Horse Goes Full Fatcat with What's Michael? Manga Collection

Volume 1 launches in comic shops first on January 29, 2020

A fan-favorite feline manga is about to make a comeback courtesy of Dark Horse. Over 20 years after Dark Horse's debut of the first English translation of Makoto Kobayashi's classic What's Michael? manga, the series is returning in overloaded style in the first-ever English collection, What's Michael? Fatcat Collection Volume 1. 


The 520-page oversized collection packs in the out-of-print original first six volumes of What's Michael?, including Michael’s AlbumLiving TogetherOff the Deep EndA Hard Day’s LifeMichael’s Favorite Spot, and Michael’s Mambo.


Michael's triumphant return is set for January 29, 2020 in comic shops, followed by a February 11, 2020 arrival in bookstores. For now, you can pre-order it on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and local comic shops.


Here's the first look at the cover of the manga that's described as "Japan's version of GarfieldHeathcliff, and Krazy Kat all rolled into one":


What's Michael?




Joseph Luster is the Games and Web editor at Otaku USA Magazine. You can read his webcomic, BIG DUMB FIGHTING IDIOTS at subhumanzoids. Follow him on Twitter @Moldilox. 

Other Top News

Sort by:
Hime banner

Try The NEW CrunchyrollBeta

check it out