9 Lifetime Achievement Anime Awards for the Tokyo Anime Award Festival 2020 Announced

Full awards festival will be held from March 13 to 16 in Ikebukuro

Mewtwo Strikes Back


The Tokyo Anime Award Festival 2020 announced on December 19 that eight people and one company, who have contributed greatly to the animation industry and culture, whether that’s through creating anime, voicing anime characters, or facilitating in the international exchange of anime, will be receiving the Lifetime Achievement Anime Award.


Tokyo Anime Award Festival 2020


The recipients are:


  • Shoji Sato, Producer, Future Boy Conan
  • Junzo Nakajima, Producer, Heidi, Girl of the Alps
  • The late Takeshi Shudo, Screenwriter, Pokémon the Movie - Mewtwo Strikes Back, Mewtwo Strikes Back Evolution
  • The late Kazuko Nakamura, Animator, Astro Boy, White Snake Den
  • The late Hisao Shirai, Director of Photography, My Neighbor Totoro, Cardcaptor Sakura: The Movie, Pokémon TV anime
  • Akiko Koyama, Color Design, Little Women, Soul Eater (episodes 14 and 22)
  • Michio Mamiya, Composer, Gauche the Cellist, Grave of the Fireflies
  • Masako Ikeda, Voice Actor, Maetel in Galaxy Express 999, Sharon in Space Brothers
  • Seiki Co., Ltd., for precision filming equipment used in animation, the company is dissolved.


The Tokyo Anime Award Festival 2020 will be held from March 13 to March 16 in Ikebukuro, Tokyo.


Sources: TAAF Website via Comic Natalie


Try Crunchyroll Premium Today!


Daryl Harding is a Japan Correspondent for Crunchyroll News. He also runs the YouTube channel about Japan stuff called TheDoctorDazza, tweets at @DoctorDazza and posts photos of his travels on Instagram

Other Top News

Be the first to comment!
Sort by:
Hime banner

Try The NEW CrunchyrollBeta

check it out