'Evangelion 3.0+1.0,' 'BELLE,' 'JUJUTSU KAISEN 0,' Nominated for Japan Academy Film Prize for Animation of the Year

'Fortune Favors Lady Nikuko' and 'Sing a Bit of Harmony' were also nominated for the prize

Evangelion 3.0+1.0: Thrice Upon a Time


The 45th Annual Japan Academy Film Prize, Japan's top award show for domestic Japanese films, announced their nominees today for the award show's top categories, including Picture of the Year, Animation of the Year, Director of the Year, all the actor categories, and more, revealing that Evangelion 3.0+1.0: Thrice Upon a Time is competing against JUJUTSU KAISEN 0 for Animation of the Year, which Demon Slayer -Kimetsu no Yaiba- The Movie: Mugen Train won last year.


Picture of the Year 

  • God of Kinema
  • Last of the Wolves
  • Under the Open Sky
  • Drive My Car
  • In the Wake


Animation of the Year

  • Sing a Bit of Harmony
  • Fortune Favors Lady Nikuko
  • Evangelion 3.0+1.0: Thrice Upon a Time


Director of the Year

  • Kazuya Shiraishi (Last of the Wolves)
  • Takahisa Zeze (In the Wake)
  • Miwa Nishikawa (Under the Open Sky)
  • Izuru Narushima (A Morning of Farewell)
  • Ryusuke Hamaguchi (Drive My Car)


Outstanding Performance by a Male Actor in a Leading Role

  • Takeru Satoh (In the Wake)
  • Masaki Suda (We Made a Beautiful Bouquet)
  • Hidetoshi Nishijima (Drive My Car)
  • Tori Matsuzaka (Last of the Wolves)
  • Koji Yakusho (Under the Open Sky)


Outstanding Performance by a Female Actor in a Leading Role

  • Yuki Amami (Rogo no Shikin ga Arimasen!)
  • Kasumi Arimura (We Made a Beautiful Bouquet)
  • Mei Nagano (And, the Baton Was Passed)
  • Mayu Matsuoka (Kiba: The Fangs of Fiction)
  • Sayuri Yoshinaga (A Morning of Farewell)


Outstanding Performance by a Male Actor in a Supporting Role

  • Hiroshi Abe (In the Wake)
  • Ryohei Suzuki (Last of the Wolves)
  • Shinichi Tsutsumi (The Fable: A Hitman Who Doesn’t Kill)
  • Taiga Nakano (Under the Open Sky)
  • Nijiro Murakami (Last of the Wolves)


Outstanding Performance by a Female Actor in a Supporting Role

  • Satomi Ishihara (And, the Baton Was Passed)
  • Kaya Kiyohara (In the Wake)
  • Mitsuko Kusabue (Rogo no Shikin ga Arimasen!)
  • Nanase Nishino (Last of the Wolves)
  • Suzu Hirose (A Morning of Farewell)


Outstanding Foreign Language Film

  • Tailor (Greece)
  • Nomadland (United States)
  • Minari (United States)
  • No Time to Die (United Kingdom)
  • Dune (United States)


Newcomer of the Year

  • Mio Imada (Tokyo Revengers) NOTE: Live-action film
  • Nanase Nishino (Last of the Wolves)
  • Touko Miura (Drive My Car)
  • Ai Yoshikawa (Honey Lemon Soda)
  • Hayato Isomura (A Family) / (What Did You Eat Yesterday? The Movie)
  • Ukon Onoe II (Baragaki: Unbroken Samurai)
  • Hio Miyazawa (Kiba: The Fangs of Fiction)
  • Fukase (Character)



While not every film or actor is a winner, everyone who is nominated will be given an Award for Excellence, which also includes a statue. The awards will be given out on March 11 in a ceremony at Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa in Tokyo.


Source: Oricon


Try Crunchyroll Premium Today!


Daryl Harding is a Japan Correspondent for Crunchyroll News. He also runs a YouTube channel about Japan stuff called TheDoctorDazza, tweets at @DoctorDazza, and posts photos of his travels on Instagram

Other Top News

Sort by:
Hime banner

Try The NEW CrunchyrollBeta

check it out