Kyoto Animation, Toei Animation Honored with Special Japan Academy Award Prizes

The honorary awards to be given out on March 11



Alongside the announcement of the nominees for the 45th Annual Japan Academy Film Prize, the academy also revealed the winners of the special awards, an honorary prize is given out by the selection committee rather than voted on my academy members, to those who have contributed greatly to the Japanese film industry. 


On the anime side, Sadao Tsukioka will be given a Special Award from the Association for his contribution to the early days of Toei Animation, his work on children’s programming for NHK’s character shows, and his influence over generations of animators through his teachings and lectures. 


Meanwhile, the Special Award from the Chairman, given out to those who have passed in the last year but have left their mark on the industry including animator Yasuo Otsuka, the mentor of Hayao Miyazaki and Isao Takahata, as well as many more through the decades, and former Toei president Tan Takaiwa, who produced many works at the studio, including the early Dragon Ball films, as well as being the president of the Japan Academy Award Prize association. Actor Sonny Chiba was also given the honor.




Anime studios Kyoto Animation and Toei Animation will be honored with the Shigeru Okada Prize, given to those production houses which make high-quality films that combine entertainment and artistry with unique creativity and modern technology.


The special awards will be handed out alongside the rest of the awards during the 45th Japan Academy Award Prize on March 11 at Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa in Tokyo.


Source: Japan Academy Award Prize


Try Crunchyroll Premium Today!


Daryl Harding is a Japan Correspondent for Crunchyroll News. He also runs a YouTube channel about Japan stuff called TheDoctorDazza, tweets at @DoctorDazza, and posts photos of his travels on Instagram

Other Top News

1 Comment
Sort by:
Hime banner

Try The NEW CrunchyrollBeta

check it out