Kaiju No.8, JoJolion, Oshi no Ko and More Nominated for 26th Tezuka Osamu Manga Award

The prestigious award will be announced in late April

A promotional image advertising the Viz English language release of the Kaiju No. 8 manga by Naoya Matsumoto, featuring the main character - Kafka Hibino - in his transformed state as the titular Kaiju No. 8.

Image via Viz Media


The Tezuka Osamu Cultural Awards, one of the most prestigious awards in manga, which honors the late Osamu Tezuka, one of the most influential manga creators ever, revealed its nominees for its 26th annual manga award today. Some of the best (and most popular) manga of the year populate the nominations, though there can only be one winner which will be announced in late April.


The nominees include:


  • Oshi no Ko written by Aka Akasaka and illustrated by Mengo Yokoyari
  • Kaiju No. 8 by Naoya Matsumoto
  • JoJolion by Hirohiko Araki
  • Takaoka Shinno Kokai by Yoko Kondo, original story by Tatsuhiko Shibusawa
  • Chi: Chikyu no Undo ni Tsuite by Uoto
  • Futaro Fusen Nikki by Bun Katsuta, original story by Futaro Yamada
  • Peleliu: Guernica of Paradise by Kazuyoshi Takeda
  • Bokyo Taro by Yoshihiro Yamada
  • Do Not Say Mystery by Yumi Tamura


This is the second year in a row that Kazuyoshi Takeda’s Peleliu: Guernica of Paradise has been nominated for the grand prize, though it did not win in 2021. 


The judge’s for this year’s award include Kochikame creator Osamu Akimoto, Machiko's One Thousand and One Nights creator and Osaka University of Arts teacher Machiko Satonaka, former AKB48 star Minami Takahashi, writer and Tohoku University of Art and Design teacher Yukiko Tomiyama, Japanese translator and film critic Shohei Chujo, manga critic Nobunaga Minami, and comedian and Prince of the Stars creator Taro Yabe. Katsu Tsunoda and Yoshihisa Kita from the Asahi Shimbun, the news organization that runs the prize, are also judges.


This year’s nominees were chosen by the judge’s from recommendations by a wide group of people in the manga business, including manga creators, bookstore employees, editing staff. The titles were picked out of every manga that had a volume released in Japan in 2021.


The award handed out to winners:


The grand prize will be announced in late April through the Asahi Shimbun, with a ceremony to be held on June 2 to award the prizes, including a bronze statue and 2 million yen (US$17,400) to the grand prize winner and a bronze statue and 1 million yen (US$8,700) to the winners of the other categories.


Source: Comic Natalie


Try Crunchyroll Premium Today!


Daryl Harding is a Japan Correspondent for Crunchyroll News. He also runs a YouTube channel about Japan stuff called TheDoctorDazza, tweets at @DoctorDazza, and posts photos of his travels on Instagram

Other Top News

Sort by:
Hime banner

Try The NEW CrunchyrollBeta

check it out