Record of Lodoss War OVA
Alternative Names:


Country of Origin: Japan
Year Produced: 1990
Air Date: Jun 30, 1990 to Nov 20, 1991
Episodes: 13
Type: Series
Page Views: 27215
Fans: 56
Forum Posts: 0
Wall Posts: 56
Photos Uploaded: 3

Record of Lodoss War OVA

Related Media
Saint Seiya - Soul of Gold - Episode 1 - The Gold Legend Revived!
Twin Angel: Twinkle Paradise - Episode 1 - That Does Not Even Deserve a Response! Enter: Twin Angel
Ushio and Tora - Episode 1 - The Fate that Brings Ushio And Tora Together
Magi: The Labyrinth of Magic - Episode 1 - Aladdin and Alibaba
Almost since the dawn of time in eons long past a battle of epic proportions raged between two armies. One lead by the God of Light, Pharis. The other commanded by the God of Darkness, Falaris. Evenly matched both armies would fight for eternity, that is until the two gods decided to place everything on one final battle between themselves. As the two most powerful deities lunged at one another fires danced across the sky, the oceans boiled, and with the final attack the earth itself was ripped asunder. From this was born a new land that would come to be known as Lodoss, the Accursed Island.

Hundreds of years have passed but the threat of the unknown darkness roils beneath the surface of Lodoss waiting to be tapped. In the Kingdom of Marmo the Dark Emperor Beld prepares his army for battle and fixes his glare upon the Holy Kingdom of Valis. But an old sage sees another hand shaping the events to come and looks for a hero to stave off the tide of death. All the while a young boy named Parn dreams only of becoming a knight so that he may restore honor to his fathers name. Little does Parn know that to become a hero he must first experience the hardship of learning to be a man.
Extended Information

As of 4/27/2009 Central Park Media has filed for Chapter 7 Bankruptcy and the U.S. License for Record of Lodoss War is currently unsold.

Source: ANN

Record of Lodoss War is an OVA with as storied a past as any and saw it's beginning not as a Manga or Anime like most, but as a game of Dungeons & Dragons run by the then Dungeon Master Ryo Mizuno in his own fantasy world of Forseria. From these game sessions he wrote a series of recaps or replays based on the perspective of the characters in the game that were then distributed and available to readers across Japan. Due to their massive success and popularity the demand for more became overwhelming. This sparked the fires of creation and lead to a new set of role playing rules based around Forseria, a novelization of the story, multiple Manga, video games for various consoles and pc, and ultimately this OVA as well as a full run TV series called Record of Lodoss War: Chronicles of the Heroic Knight.

There is also a second Anime TV series based in Mizuno's world of Forseria called Rune Soldier. It is a much more comedic adventure and occurs on the continent of Alecrast which is north of Lodoss.


This story revolves around a group of six adventurers and their quest to discover the truth behind the bloody history of Lodoss and why it is locked in a continuing cycle of conflict. This makes for a classic tale of high adventure and fantasy familiar to anyone who has ever played a traditional RPG. While appearing simple at first the story is very deep and explores the desires and past of not only the six heroes but many of their enemies at well. However at it's heart this is a tale of a boy who learns there is more to life than black and white and that good can not exist without evil.

13 and up

Running Time:
27 minutes per episode

Opening Theme:
"Adesso e Fortuna" by Sherry

Closing Theme:
"Kaze no Fantasia" by Sherry


Produced by:
Kadokawa Publishing Co., LTD.

Executive Producer:
Tsuguhiko Kadokawa

Takeshi Tamiya
Kenshoo Ikeda
Masao Maruyama

Assistant Producer:
Tooru Suzuki

Executive Director:
Akinori Nagaoka

Akinori Nagaoka
Shigeto Makino
Katsuhisa Yamada
Taiji Ryu
Kazunori Mizuno
Akio Sakai
Hiroshi Kawasaki

Mami Watanabe
Kenichi Kanemaki

Mitsuo Hagita

Original Character Design:
Yutaka Izubuchi

Character Design:
Nobuteru Yuuki

Sub Character Design:
Yutaka Minowa

Art Director:
Hidetoshi Kaneko

Original Story by:
Ryo Mizuno
Hitoshi Yasuda

Episode List

1: Prologue to the Legend
2: Blazing Departure
3: The Black Knight
4: The Grey Witch
5: The Desert King
6: The Sword of the Dark Emperor
7: The War of Heroes
8: Requiem for Warriors
9: The Scepter of Domination
10: The Demon Dragon of Fire Dragon Mountain
11: The Wizard's Ambition
12: Final Battle Marmo, the Dark Island
13: Lodoss, the Burning Continent

Deedlit (lead)Yumi Touma
Etoh (lead)Kappei Yamaguchi
Ghim (lead)Yoshisada Sakaguchi
Parn (lead)Takeshi Kusao
Slayn (lead)Hideyuki Tanaka
Woodchuck (lead)Norio Wakamoto